Easy Felt Photo Album – Tutorial

felt album cover

Yay! My first real sewing craft project (okay, not including pant hems or that dog pillow I did in 7th grade)! Anyway, this was so easy. As I wrote previously, sewing just doesn’t come naturally to me. I wanted to start small to ensure at least moderate success on my first foray back. My mom sewed a lot when we were kids, to the point where all three of us had sunday outfits of matching fabric and I wasn’t even embarrassed (hey, I was young!). I wish I had paid attention back then.

I remember seeing these covers somewhere before. The construction seemed fairly straightforward, with only three pieces stitched together. Another bonus is that felt doesn’t unravel, and is forgiving to work with. If I can make this then I know that everyone else can, too! Fun fact: according to Wikipedia, felt is the oldest form of fabric known to humankind and predates weaving and knitting.

Items Needed
2 sheets of felt
photo album insert
thread
embellishment (optional)

Instructions
For the album above, I chose a red embossed sheet for the outside, a smooth dark brown for the inside, and red thread. I’m not sure of their types, but the red sheet was softer and floppy, like typical craft felt, and the brown one was stiffer. The album insert came from Target.

1. Begin by measuring the album opened flat on a table, and add .25″ to the top and bottom and .5″ to the sides for seam allowance. For example, if the opened album measured 10″wide x 6.5″tall then the end measurement would be 11″wide x 7″tall. Cut this rectangle out of the outside felt cover sheet.

2. Measure the front cover. Add .25″ to the top and bottom only. For example, if the front cover measures 4.75″wide x 6.5″ tall, the end measurement would be 4.75″wide x 7″tall. Cut out two of these shapes – one for the inside front cover and one for the inside back cover.

3. Lay the pieces together as shown below (large red outside piece face down, with two brown pieces facing up, matching outside edges). Stitch around the whole perimeter, keeping about .1875″ from the edge and backstitching at the end. I used a sewing machine, but this could be done by hand, too, and might look neat using a blanket stitch. Trim the thread ends.

felt photo album diagram

4. Now tuck the front and back covers of the album into the side pockets. That’s it!

Adding An Embellishment
I happened to have a set of EK Success “Inspirables” metal charms that I bought for our wedding and never used. For this project I chose the “Love” charm. Using the same red thread I stitched it onto the lower right of the front cover for a simple finishing touch. Craft stores are filled with neat ad-ons that could be glued or stitched on. Or simply cut some fun shapes out of the remaining felt scraps and stitch them onto the cover before completion.

The inside. This will be a gift to Marcy so I’ve included one of her wedding photos.

The red thread makes a nice contrast on the brown

Detail of the spine and discreet backstitching to keep the thread from unraveling

Detail of the “Love” embellishment, hand-stitched with red thread

12 Responses to “Easy Felt Photo Album – Tutorial”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson October 22, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    very pretty! I love the way it turned out.

  2. 2 pricklypearbloom October 23, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Awesome! It turned out lovely! Thanks for the tutorial!

  3. 3 bohemiangirl October 24, 2007 at 4:16 am

    Oh Me! Oh My! What fun. I think it’s time for me to put the sewing machine to use rather than watch it collect dust. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. 4 megan September 5, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I’d love to contact you about including this project in a published sewing calendar, but I can’t find your email anywhere. Can you email me so I can give you the details? Thanks!

  5. 5 ClaireSky October 23, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    How did the cover get that swirly affect?

  6. 6 paperseed October 24, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Hi Claire,

    I was lucky enough to find the felt already like that at my local craft store. A search for “novelty” or “embossed” craft felt should set you in the right direction.

    Emily

  7. 7 Kathy December 26, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I would like to try making your cute photo album, but where do you get the photo inserts? I know this is an old tutorial post but I’m hoping you will still find this question. Thank you.

  8. 8 admin December 28, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Hi Kathy,

    I have found photo inserts at both Target and Micheal’s. I think I’ve also seen them at the dollar store. Hope this helps and good luck!

    Emily


  1. 1 Thoughts on Sewing + Handmade Holidays « Trackback on November 1, 2007 at 8:15 pm
  2. 2 Crafters Medley: 21 Neat-O Projects To Make (June) » TipNut.com Trackback on June 21, 2008 at 6:54 am
  3. 3 My Favourite Blog Posts for today!!!! | Journal of a Rock Angel Trackback on June 23, 2008 at 5:11 am
  4. 4 Sewing Calendar 2010 at Paperseed Trackback on August 14, 2009 at 8:56 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Paperseed's Photos

Other Things I Make