Thoughts on Sewing + Handmade Holidays

pin cushion

New pins and cushion on a separately purchased yard of Amy Butler’s Nigella Water Lotus from Bolt

I had a really nice day today. It wasn’t too out of the ordinary, really. This morning my husband and I went to a meeting and afterwards I had a doctor’s appointment (I ended up getting a tetanus booster, and not to be a baby, but it still hurts). I worked from home this afternoon and tonight I just finished a batch of Chocolate Chip Truffle Brownie cookies that turned out heavenly (tip: buy a box of Truffle Brownie Baking Mix from Trader Joe’s and follow the variation on the side). It was all I could do to stop myself from eating more than a few spoonfuls of batter alone. No doubt I’ve reached my quota of calories for the remainder of the week.

Next to the doctor’s office is a fabric store, so of course I decided to pop in for a moment. Now that I’ve finished my 1st, 2nd and 3rd projects I felt like it was okay to pick up a few basics I didn’t have – a pin cushion, a seam ripper and threader, a measuring tape and some glass-head pins. Who would guess a tiny box of those pretties could be so expensive? I adore them, though. So dainty and colorful. I immediately stuck some in the little cushion once I got home.

Now I am thinking about the next project. I have to tread carefully here with my limited skills and experience. I don’t want to tackle anything too difficult, because I don’t want to frustrate myself into quitting. I don’t want to do anything too boring, because it will feel like a waste of time. I also don’t want to make something that will just sit around unused. Our house is so small that things “lying about” can quickly get out of hand. If it were up to my husband, our house would more resemble a monk’s cell, than a comfortable home.

I’m also beginning to think about Christmas gifts. Every year I think to myself maybe this year I’ll only give handmade (or recycled, or organic, or local). But each year I chicken out. I have given some though – a set of greeting cards with vellum for my mother-in-law, a hand knit scarf for my mom, homemade dog treats for Barkley and his best friend, Mia. Maybe this year will be the year. I know that some people around the blogosphere are already making that commitment. I’m just not sure I’m ready.

However, one site that I’ll be checking out everyday for the next month is Sew Mama Sew’s blog (based in my area, as a matter-of-fact) that is featuring Handmade Holidays: 30 Days of Gifts to Sew. Today’s inspiration was all about aprons, including links to tutorials. Check out this awesome list:

November 1 ~ Aprons
November 2 ~ Pincushions & Pins
November 3 ~ For the House
November 4 ~ Lunch Bags
November 5 ~ Tote Bags
November 6 ~ Blankets for Baby
November 7 ~ For your Purse or Pocket
November 8 ~ Whimsy
November 9 ~ Fabric Ornaments
November 10 ~ Ties and Belts
November 11 ~ Reading & Writing
November 12 ~ For the Table
November 13 ~ Placemats
November 14 ~ Kids’ Clothes
November 15 ~ Warm those Toes
November 16 ~ Gifts for the Crafter
November 17 ~ Purses
November 18 ~ For Baby
November 19 ~ Tech Gifts
November 20 ~ Gifts for Organization
November 21 ~ Pillows
November 22 ~ Fun for Hair
November 23 ~ Soft Toys & Games
November 24 ~ Sachets
November 25 ~ For the Kitchen
November 26 ~ Embellishments
November 27 ~ Gifts for Warmth
November 28 ~ Drawstring Bags
November 29 ~ Fabric Boxes
November 30 ~ Gift Compilations

3 Responses to “Thoughts on Sewing + Handmade Holidays”


  1. 1 Belinda November 2, 2007 at 4:19 am

    You’re already doing a great job with your sewing! Personally, I like making handmade gifts for the holidays. You did such a nice job on sewing your placemats; what about making some placemats and matching napkins as gifts? The sewing on those isn’t too hard and you can play around with decorative trims or stitching on the placemats. And I can see from reading your blog that you are very creative, so it wouldn’t be too hard to make matching napkin ring holders as well.

    There are also lots of good ideas in the list you provided. 🙂

    Happy Sewing!

  2. 2 amethystlune November 2, 2007 at 7:54 am

    good luck! i do the same thing: i SAY i am going to give out handmade gifts and then life gets in the way. though, one christmas i actually did make handmade christmas cards. and that was AWESOME. but was hella work.

    as for the calendar list – what a great idea to steal. having a written goal helps achieve your dreams, well at least that’s the stuff i’ve been reading… for me writing out goals sometimes works; sometimes it doesn’t. mostly it depends on my mood. 🙂 happy crafting!

  3. 3 Heidi November 2, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Thanks for posting this – I didn’t know Sew Mama Sew was doing that. What a cool idea!


Comments are currently closed.




