The most AMAZING buttermilk chocolate cake EVER

buttermilk chocolate cake

This recipe has moved to a new location.

30 Responses to “The most AMAZING buttermilk chocolate cake EVER”


  1. 1 Tina February 10, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I was watching the movie Chocolat last night. This would have been perfect with the movie.

  2. 3 Nabeel February 10, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    anything with chocolate is amazing. My favorite is the Godiva chocolate cheese cake .. with hot chocolate syrup on top.

  3. 4 leslie February 10, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    oh my god. that looks sooooooo amazing!! i need an excuse to make it…

  4. 5 puremotif February 11, 2008 at 7:00 am

    my mouth is absolutely watering. i am supposd to make a low-fat dessert for dinner wtih my parents tonight. this is low-fat right? 🙂

  5. 6 pricklypearbloom February 11, 2008 at 9:23 am

    drooooollllll

  6. 7 christa February 11, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    that looks so delicious – i just made a chocolate cake this weekend – and now I want to make this one!

  7. 8 Keith February 16, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I made this cake exactly as recipe and found it slightly to oily and lacking taste. I made another and used 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature and 3/4 cup oil. Wow! perfect with better texture, not spongy.

  8. 9 paperseed February 17, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Really? That is so interesting, but I’m glad you were willing to try it again with your own variation. One excerpt from the article I didn’t include above was this paragraph:

    So what gives this recipe such staying power? It’s the oil, says McKinney. “Oil makes a moister cake, and allows it to last a week, whereas a layer cake made with butter becomes dry the next day.”

    Actually, I think I’ll include the whole paragraph in a postscript above, if you find that is any help. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

  9. 10 Caitlin March 18, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    I made this tonight, just a single layer. Very soft and moist, but much paler than in the picture. It was quite good, though I had hoped it might be denser. The ganache made it better, and it would be amazing with 2 layers! Thanks for sharing!

  10. 11 Barb August 9, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    How tall were the cake pans you used? I used 2 9″ pans and it overflowed. I had double checked all my measurements before assembling.

  11. 12 rachel August 20, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    The reason it was paler was you probably used natural cocoa instead of Dutch-process (alkalized cocoa) like paperseed did.

  12. 13 Margaret August 27, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Has anyone tried this with gluten free flour?

  13. 14 Billie August 30, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Thanks for the posting. I used to work at a restaurant where we made a this cake. It was extremely popular. We put a cream cheese frosting on it, though. To Everybody: THIS IS THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE RECIPE, EVER!!!

  14. 15 Kathy October 7, 2008 at 6:10 am

    I made this cake for my son’s 2nd birthday party, and since the comment about the butter made me start to think (fan of butter) and liked the comment about the texture improvement, I decided to do the same. half and half about. It turned out amazing and everyone loved this cake. I am so happy to have found this recipe.
    Now I am possibly going to start to make this cake for a small cafe in my community, only questions now are, does it need to be refrigerated? I’m assuming since it has a ganache it does, but am not sure. Also I guess It must be only oil for it to have that lovely staying power that is mentioned in the article! Thanks for this amazing recipe!!!!!

  15. 16 lauren January 10, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I’m not sure why anyone would consider changing this recipe. I’ve already made it twice now and people love it! Its moist and really flavorful. I wouldn’t change anything. I used it to make cupcakes and they turned out great… as for 2 9″ cake pans, mine didn’t overflow but they were really thick layers! Next time I might make it into a three layer cake instead to cut back on the baking time to ensure its completely cooked throughout.

  16. 17 aztec January 31, 2009 at 8:40 am

    sick peice of chacolate that should feed a bunch

  17. 18 José Carrilho January 31, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Hi,

    It really looks good.
    Today I had a cake that is made with layers of cookies (They’re known as Maria cookies here in Portugal and in Spain).
    It’s done with a butter cream and coffee.

    Kind regards,

    José

  18. 19 Greg January 31, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    This is incredible. Anything with heavy whipping cream and buttermilk has to be good! I will make it. Eat your heart out Paula Dean!

  19. 20 pennsylvaniawanderer February 3, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    This recipe looks absolutely delicious. Can’t wait to try it!

  20. 21 Amy, Personal Training Austin February 7, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    This cake looks so rich and moist, I can’t wait to make it. So decadent!

  21. 22 Kimberly @ How to Cook Blog February 10, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    I love baking with buttermilk! It gives such a nice, tangy flavor you just can’t put your finger on…

    This cake looks and sounds amazing!

    Kimberly 🙂

  22. 23 Amanda February 10, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    i’m not a fan of fudgy cake.

  23. 24 Jessie February 14, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    WOW. This looks amazing. Love the combination of buttermilk and chocolate. Well done 😀

    +Jessie
    a.k.a. The Hungry Mouse (now even hungrier)

  24. 25 Donna February 17, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    I’m thinking of making this cake for a birthday next week but have a couple of questions so grateful if anyone can reply – what kind of oil is canola? (I’m in the UK and we don’t have that brand here). Also, I need to decorate my cake with quite heavy icing (Spiderman theme!) – is the cake firm enough to stand up to this? Finally, does it have any taste of the coffee as I really don’t like coffee flavour? Thanks for any answers!

  25. 26 Marianna February 24, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Hi Donna,
    Canola oil is the same as rapeseed oil. That you should be able to find at local supermarkets.
    cheers
    Marianna

  26. 27 lauren February 24, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Donna –

    Canola oil is basically a slightly healthier version of vegetable oil and it doesn’t have a very strong flavour. The cake is definitely firm enough to hold up a lot of icing, just make sure you cook it all the way through! I commented earlier that I was going to use 3 cake pans instead of 2, because there is a lot more batter than most cakes I’ve made, so it takes a lot longer to bake and theres a possibility the outside could burn before the inside is fully set. So I’d just make sure you don’t overfill your cake pans and you’ll be fine.
    You don’t even taste the coffee. Coffee is just there to enhance the chocolate flavour. You’ll never even notice it. You’ll love the cake, though! I just made it again yesterday. I’ve probably used this recipe at least 6 times now. It freezes wonderfully!

  27. 28 Lauren March 15, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    This recipe was outstanding. I do not normally bake cakes, but it was my boyfriend’s birthday and I wanted to bake him a chocolate dinosaur cake (looked and tasted great!). I stumbled across this recipe, and it looked good – the reviews had me even more convinced. I substituted half the butter for oil just because I was making it the day before his birthday and I wanted it to stay moist and tasty.
    WOW! Everyone raved about this cake, especially my boyfriend’s mother, who ALWAYS makes her cakes and cupcakes from scratch. She told everyone she knew… and then everytime I saw someone who I knew through her it was “Gracey told me you made a spectacular cake…”
    Sorry for the ramble: this recipe is heavenly.

  28. 29 Morta Di Fame January 2, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I made this for Xmas Eve. Here is a link to a photo of it.
    It was really amazing. So dense, moist and rich. Delicious!
    Thanks!

    http://mortadifame.blogspot.com/2009/12/christmas-2009-photo-recap.html


  1. 1 How to Rescue an Overbaked Cheesecake « Trackback on October 19, 2008 at 7:01 pm
Comments are currently closed.




