Shot

Chloe got her first set of shots at the pediatrician’s this morning. Six vaccines in three shots and one oral dose. I can write here that is was a terrible moment for both of us, but there simply aren’t words enough to express how my tiny baby screamed in pain, her face heartbreakingly red, her little body clenched and gasping against shot after shot after shot. It was bad enough to helplessly watch a strange nurse hurt my child, but I was asked to help by holding down Chloe’s little arms, too. Thank God the succession was over quickly. I felt so distraught and exhausted afterwards, crooning and rocking and comforting as best I could. I had to keep reminding myself that this was for her own good, to protect her and keep her healthy. I’m so glad it’s over, and that there are two months to steel myself before the next set in March.

5 Responses to “Shot”


  1. 1 Irene January 19, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    I hate to say it, but it almost gets harder as they grow. They are so much more aware and it gets harder to explain why they must endure the pain.
    I choose for the first time this year to not make my kids endure a flu shot. I’m so happy I did! This has by far been the healthiest year for us all. I know that I can’t blame the flu shot for past illnesses, but why mess with a good thing?

  2. 2 Pina January 19, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    Hmm, I don’t have children but often I was thinking about the vaccinations they get. I know several kids who had been handicapped after getting a vaccine (not ever be able to live on their own). So, I always wonder what would I do if I had a child.
    Brave Chloe! And a wonderful mum! 🙂

  3. 3 Pina January 20, 2009 at 2:57 am

    Emily, I would be glad if you would take part in my Pay it forward exchange. Though, if you prefer and it is easier for you, we can make a private exchange instead. I am excited already, although I have still no idea what I will make for you. 🙂

  4. 4 farmsteadlady January 21, 2009 at 10:04 am

    I feel for you…I must agree with Irene though, it does get worse as they grow older because they are more aware. My little man has his 5 year old checkup coming and all he wanted to know was “are there any shots involved” 🙂

  5. 5 leslie January 21, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    oh, aren’t vaccinations terrible?? and we only have two needles plus oral each time here. i have to say though that the four month shots were MUCH better than the 2 month ones. she still cried but only for a moment and not with such gusto and outrage. it’s made me feel better about the six month ones which are right around the corner – and then a break from shots for another six months! whew.


Comments are currently closed.




