Going Places

What a day! Going places with the baby is no small feat, but today was pretty successful. After her mid-morning nursing, David and I bundled Chloe up so we could run some errands, including a stop at The Container Store for a few organizational supplies. I really like that place. So many great ways to store and organize one’s life. Too bad everything is so expensive. Anyway, the nicest thing happened – two women stopped to admire Chloe, asked her age (8 weeks) and told her how adorable she was –  and then one woman said “And doesn’t your mother look so great!?” Hello!? What a nice thing to say! I mean, it is common to notice babies, but to notice also that a new mother has lost some of her pregnancy weight and to compliment her, even indirectly? It felt amazing to hear that. I guess it is one thing to be told by friends and family who love you, but a stranger? Those words were so powerful. I’m sure she doesn’t realize how she made my day. But she did.

Afterwards we stopped at Babies R Us to pick up some more items on our list. I thought I’d nurse Chloe in the car before going in, so she wouldn’t fuss. About halfway through she did one of her once-daily huge throw ups, getting it all over our clothes. I changed her outfit and diaper in my lap (good practice for traveling on a plane with the baby) and let her nurse a little more, only to have her do a huge poop just minutes later. Sigh. Luckily Babies R Us has a nice “mothers’ room” with changing tables and wipes.

On our way home we took the car through (environmentally friendly) Kaddy Car Wash and then got a late lunch at Chipotle. It doesn’t sound like a big deal, but it was the first time David and I ate out alone with the baby, just the two of us. It felt good, almost like old times. That is what having a baby does to you – complicates things, certainly, but makes even simple pleasures that much more special.

3 Responses to “Going Places”


  1. 1 Pina January 19, 2009 at 12:10 am

    I am glad that you are back! I missed the news from your part of the world. While reading a book with a title Chloe, I thought about you so many times. 🙂

  2. 2 Irene January 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Sounds like you’ve got everything under control. I know of some women who wouldn’t even try to leave the house for one errand with their new baby, yet alone two stores and lunch.
    Good for you!

  3. 3 Jane January 19, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I am a new reader to your blog and enjoy it. Congratulations on your baby!

    I remember our first time out with our baby…a Chili’s restaurant we went to only because it was next to a BabieRUs and Old Navy (where I was buying some interim clothes for my post-baby body transition!) I remember we ate SO fast and felt so accomplished when we got home having had our first meal-included outing.

    Our son is two and now we have other toddler challenges related to eating out, and have Number Two coming in two months…more changes ahead. But I remember those first tentative outings with such love and admiration for my husband and I and all of us who jump into the world of parenting.

    Congratulations. It is a ride. Enjoy the small victories!

    Jane


Comments are currently closed.




