Chloe’s Birth Story

baby chloe

My name is Chloe, and I was born on Monday, November 24th, 2008.  This is my birth story.

My estimated due date was November 27th, Thanksgiving.  Daddy was sure I’d be born on the 21st.  Mommy kept reminding herself that first babies were usually late, so she wouldn’t get too impatient at the end of her pregnancy.  I decided to please them both and timed my arrival exactly half way between Daddy’s guess and my due date, on the 24th.

It all started around 4:30am that morning when Mommy started to feel some contractions.  Then at 4:45am her water broke, so they knew that things had officially started.  Daddy called their doula, Katie, at 5:30am to let her know that Mommy was in labor.  Daddy said that they wanted to labor at home as long as possible, and that they were doing okay on their own.  A half an hour later, Daddy called again.  Mommy’s contractions were coming pretty fast, about two minutes apart, and they were ready to go to the hospital.

At St. Vincent’s, my parents were taken to triage, where Katie met them.  The midwife arrived and Mommy’s progress was checked at 6:45am.  She was seven centimeters dilated already!  Her contractions were getting stronger, so Katie put a TENS (transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation) unit on her back to help her with the pain.  Mommy also rocked on the ball beside the bed for a while.  Finally, at 7:30am, they were taken to a labor and delivery room.  The midwife checked Mommy right when they got there, and she was almost fully dilated at nine and a bit centimeters.  The midwife told Mommy she could start to push.

Mommy pushed like a champ.  She tried all sorts of positions, including on her hands and knees, on the toilet, squatting by the bed, squatting on the bed with a squat bar, on her side, and while pulling on a towel.  That little bit of cervix that was still there just didn’t want to dilate and I just couldn’t get past it.  Mommy’s contractions were very painful by this time, so she accepted some Fentanyl.  While the medicine helped a little, she couldn’t fully relax, and, despite some great pushing, I still wasn’t moving down far enough.  At 10:45am, after over 2 hours of working extremely hard, Mommy got an epidural and some much deserved rest.

The epidural and the relaxation it provided Mommy did the trick!  At 11:45 they checked to see where I was.  My head had moved down through Mommy’s pelvis!  Everyone was so excited!

Mommy started her super-pushing again, and then (drum-roll, please!), at 12:01 p.m., I was born!  They placed me on Mommy’s chest . . . Bliss!  There wasn’t a dry eye in the room.  I snuggled with Mommy for 20 minutes while Daddy and my Grandma Sandy watched in awe and Katie took photos.  Then the doctors and nurses gave me a quick exam.  Apart from being a little shaky (it had been a long journey!), I did great and weighed in at 6 pounds, 15 ounces.  The nurse quickly placed me back in Mommy’s arms and we cuddled, skin to skin.  Everyone commented on how alert I was.  How could I not be . . . I had finally met my parents!

As written by Katie Briggs, Attending Doula, Supported Start

22 Responses to “Chloe’s Birth Story”


  1. 1 Deana and Justin December 5, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Congratulations – she is so perfect! Can’t wait to meet her!

  2. 2 Sarah Jackson December 5, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Hooray!!! You’re a beautiful girl, Chloe. All of you are a very lucky family. And good job, mama! Enjoy your sweet girl.

  3. 3 patricia December 5, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Awww. Congratulations! She’s beautiful!

  4. 4 Belinda December 6, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Welcome to the world, Chloe! You had quite a journey! 🙂 I know your mommy and daddy are very glad you’re finally here. 🙂

    Congratulations to Mommy and Daddy! You have a beautiful little girl–and smart, too! 😀

  5. 5 leslie December 6, 2008 at 7:54 am

    whooohoo. welcome, beautiful chloe!

  6. 6 vanou December 6, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Ooooh, how precious!
    Have a blast getting to know each other.

  7. 7 Katy Bowman December 6, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Congratulations! She’s beautiful! Welcome, Chloe!

  8. 8 Tina December 7, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Congratulations, Chloe is beautiful.

  9. 9 Mark McCarthy December 7, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Welcome to the world, Chloe! I hope you will find that it’s a good place to be.

  10. 10 lera December 7, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Congratulations. She’s a beautiful baby.

  11. 11 Pina December 7, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Congratulations! She is so beautiful! And what a story!

  12. 12 Anne December 8, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    She’s such a pretty baby. Yay to her hero of a Mom for all that hard work! Congratulations all around.

  13. 13 christa December 8, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    oooo your little girl is so beautiful. Congratulations!

  14. 14 Kiva, Southern Girl Musings December 8, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Congratulations on such a beautiful and healthy baby girl!!!

  15. 15 Rachel December 8, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Congratulations!! That was such a sweet story!

  16. 16 mon December 10, 2008 at 9:58 am

    She is beautiful! God bless your baby and family

  17. 17 Shannon December 14, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Congratulations and welcome to the world beautiful one:)

  18. 18 liz langley December 22, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Congratulations! She is beautiful, and thanks for sharing such a nice birth story.

  19. 19 leslie December 23, 2008 at 3:04 am

    ooooooh!!! she’s gorgeous and i love her name! the hugest of congratulations and sorry it’s so overdue. can’t wait to hear how the first few weeks have been and see more of her sweetness : )

  20. 20 rachel December 28, 2008 at 8:12 am

    So I just realized this must have come during a crazy week where I “marked all as read” in google reader. I’m just seeing this now. CONGRATULATIONS!! SHE IS SO BEAUTIFUL.

  21. 21 Brooke January 8, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Congrats! What a beautiful little girl. Thanks for sharing your birth story with us :).

  22. 22 Katie March 31, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Hee-hee…I didn’t know you had put the story I wrote on here…Very cool! Thanks again for letting me be apart of your transition into a family of three. I think of you all often! xox -Katie


Comments are currently closed.




