My First Softie

Here is the softie for the swap I mentioned earlier. The pattern is from the book Sew Pretty Christmas Homestyle. It turned out pretty good for a first attempt. Sewing such small, rounded corners was quite a challenge. The fabric is the same dot print used on the art cards that are also part of the swap package, and I used non-toxic fabric paint for the eyes and nose. The set is going to my partner’s new nephew, whose room is done in baby blue and brown, and she is a big fan of polka dots. Hope they like it!

3 Responses to “My First Softie”


  1. 1 Pina October 26, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    I smiled this morning when I saw a title of this post. And then a photo loaded – I am glad you’ve made it because the little bear is so cute. I read this today on another blog: Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, and having fun. I hope that you had lots of the latter making this softie bear.

  2. 2 Melisa October 29, 2008 at 8:44 am

    I am so glad you introduced your blog and some of your crafts on projectnursery.com. You are so talented! We are always looking for great DIY projects and tips to feature. Thank you for stopping by.
    Let us know if you are ever interested in contributing once you are settled with baby 🙂 Best of luck! Oh and we would like to exchange links or buttons so we can share you with our readers. Let us know if you would like to do so!

  3. 3 tasha November 19, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    thanks for stopping by my blog! i’m glad you found some music you like! blogs are usually where i find my music too. 🙂 you must be excited to be having your baby very soooon! i wish i could get a gender kit for free too. i am so skeptical about having a girl after having 4 boys, but not sure i want to spend the $35. i do get another ultrasound in a couple weeks. 🙂 i love this cute little bear you made. the polka dot fabric is perfect! i am glad you mentioned the Sew Pretty Christmas book….i have the Sew Pretty Homestyle and have gotten some ideas for our baby girls room. (crossing fingers it is actually a girl!) Best Wishes on your upcoming Special Delivery!!! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.




