The danger of online browsing

Somehow I fell into window shopping online tonight. So dangerous. I just love the fabrics and styles that are coming out right now for fall. Especially in dark or charcoal grey, one of my favorite colors to wear. Oh man. If I had a normal figure right now I would be spending so much money. First of all, check out the awesome dress below from Anthropologie. I hardly ever wear dresses, but I would find a reason to wear this one. Can you imagine? With some tall black boots? Oh boy, I’d feel like a million bucks. Love the shape and pleated asymmetrical details. If I was slightly less sane I would go wild and buy one now, with the hope that someday, after baby is born, I might have a defined waist again.


Echo, Echo Dress

Yes, some really nice things out there. And to be fair, there are some wearable and semi-reasonable maternity finds, too. Like this well-designed coat and sweaters from Old Navy. Quite a surprise to find them there, if you ask me.

From Old Navy Maternity: Wool-Blend Swing Coat, Cable-Knit Crossover Cardigan, Pleated Sweater Coat

I tried the coat on the other day, before David noticed the $88 price tag. Since I mostly work from home, I have no reason to buy a maternity coat that I’ll only wear for a few months. More likely, I’ll be wearing David’s jackets and coats, at least until I can fit into my own again. Sometimes I forget that my body won’t simply bounce back to its pre-pregnancy size the minute baby is born. Luckily I was reminded recently, that I will likely be wearing maternity clothes for at least a couple months after baby. So I guess that is a good enough reason to buy a few nice, warm pieces to supplement my borrowed goods, since there is only so much I can stand of looking like a sack of potatoes. 🙂

2 Responses to “The danger of online browsing”


  1. 1 Pina October 16, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Funny, I browsed Anthropologie pages this morning too. Just to dream a bit again. As I am usually always very cold, I mostly wear trousers during the cold months, so such beauties as the dress on the photo, is only a dream for me.

    And don’t worry, in no time you will be back in your old shape again. It seems forever but time passes quickly anyway!

  2. 2 henri hopper October 17, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    I really like that Old Navy jacket too. I added it to my Wishpot maternity list. Living in San Diego, I doubt I’ll get it either, but I think it’s important for us pregos to continue to dream about how cute we can look in clothes, belly or not! In fact probably especially now that we have big bellies! And don’t worry, you look great now and I’m sure it won’t be long before you’re back to your old size. All my friends who’ve had babies have gone bak to their normal shapes in less than a year. I’m sure it will be the same for you, and me too! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.




