Sewing Baby’s Blanket


Here’s a peek at our new Ikea dresser and bookcase. Holding up the lamp
and shade is Louis the lion, one of our many wonderful shower gifts.

I finally sat down to sew baby’s blanket. The print side is leftover Alexander Henry Kleo fabric from the lovely crib skirt my mother-in-law made, and the back is pink dot minky. At the baby shower, we received two pink and white minky quilts, so I was able to return one and buy a yard of plain pink minky fabric instead.

I noticed the price of minky varies widely at our local shops. I first saw it for $20/yard where we purchased the Kleo fabric. Then I bought it elsewhere for $15, and used a coupon. Later I found it at Joann’s for $12.99/yard, but their pink wasn’t the right match.

The other thing about Minky is that it is a little hard to work with, as my mother-in-law warned me. Plus I’m a newbie sewer and had never made anything with stretchy material before. Knowing this, I tried to put in a little more effort – smoothing out the material, pinning it more often to keep creeping to a minimum, using a longer stitch length to keep the edges from buckling, decreasing the tension, and sewing it with the minky side down.

I started by cutting out matching rectangles from both fabrics. With the right sides facing, I stitched the perimeter with rounded corners, leaving a small open section at one end to turn it right side out. I trimmed and graded the raw edges, turned it right side out, and then top stitched it about a half inch from the edge. The finished size is about 30″ x 40″. I think it looks pretty good, considering.

Now, onto other baby projects…

9 Responses to “Sewing Baby’s Blanket”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson October 10, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    so very cute! I love that Kleo fabric. I have it in brown. I’m so happy to see everything coming together for you.

  2. 2 Shannon October 11, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Everything looks beautiful!

  3. 3 Teresa October 12, 2008 at 4:37 am

    That turned out very cute!
    I have learned that if you sew with the minky fabric on the bottom (it is the fabric that will be touching your feed dogs) it doesn’t stretch as much.

  4. 4 Irene October 12, 2008 at 11:41 am

    It looks wonderful! Baby will love it especially since Mommy made it. 🙂
    You have to be careful with the quality of minky. The stuff at JoAnn’s is crappy- IMO. It’s super thin and will wear quickly. I would always stick with the more expensive stuff.

  5. 5 Pina October 13, 2008 at 2:10 am

    Very, very, very cute. And that Louis the lion made me smile! 🙂

  6. 6 joanna October 13, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Thanks for your sweet comment! You made my day. I’m feeling stronger everyday, but now my hubby (who took 2 weeks off work to help out here) has a fever and may have the flu! We are truly a pathetic bunch! 😦

  7. 7 leslie October 16, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    it looks great! and it’ll be sooooo cuddly : ) you’ll get tons of use out of it, let me tell you.

  8. 9 Gem October 29, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    I love this blanket, very cute, and the material is to die for *drool*

    I have featured your tuts on my blog of baby craft 😀


Comments are currently closed.




