Fresh fruit and cream meringue pavlova

This is the dessert I made yesterday – a layered meringue with a freshly whipped lemon cream filling topped with vanilla whipped cream and garnished with fresh organic fruit. I made the meringue layers using this recipe, but instead made two 8″ circles. Then, using a pint of heavy whipping cream, I made a batch of freshly whipped cream, which I divided into two bowls. The first bowl was for the filling. I added about a half a jar of lemon curd and about a 1/3 cup of sour cream and mixed it all together. The second bowl was for the topping, to which I added only some Swedish vanilla sugar (from Ikea) and some regular powdered sugar, until it was slightly sweet, enough to balance the tartness of the lemon cream. Then I decorated the top with freshly sliced strawberries and blueberries.

This dessert got rave reviews (and requests for second helpings), but I made a tactical error in assembling it too early. In order to keep the meringue crisp, this dessert should be assembled just before eating. Otherwise the meringues become soft, just like the whipped cream layers. It didn’t alter the taste, but the texture was all creamy, no crunch. I think if I decide to make this dessert again and want to do it ahead of time, I’ll scoop the creams and fruit into individual cups, and then top with a piece of crisp meringue, right before serving.

4 Responses to “Fresh fruit and cream meringue pavlova”


  1. 1 Rachel June 22, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    i think i’d prefer it soft because i have a hard time crunching into meringue when i feel like it is ruining the whole dessert (as it all crumbles)… however…. it would be good crispy too.

    either way it looks fabulous!

  2. 2 Pina June 23, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Yum! I would love to have one piece of it right now.
    I have never made (or tasted) this dessert before, I guess it looked too complicated to make. The idea of dividing the creams and fruit into individual cups and then topping it with meringue sounds better. 🙂

  3. 3 melissapher July 18, 2008 at 1:18 am

    MmmmmMM! That looks like a fun, yummy and summery dessert. I’ll have to try it sometime

  4. 4 irene cummins January 12, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Can I have the recipe please for a meringue topped with whipped cream and raspberries on top.

    Thank You.


Comments are currently closed.




