Plain & Simple Maternity Swimwear

Okay, finding a swimsuit is hard, but finding a maternity swimsuit is ridiculously difficult. And it doesn’t help that I am as picky as they come on this topic. As a matter of fact, my favorite pre-pregnancy two-peice is a red halter-style bikini top with boy short bottoms. It is a few years old now, but back then I drove to three different Targets in order to finally find my size. So you can see, during the rare times that I find one I like, I am willing to go the distance.

After doing a fair amount of internet searching and perusing the racks at a couple nearby stores, I saw a lot of ugly maternity suits. I really wanted PLAIN – no polkadots, animal prints, plaids, ruffles or hardware. It is bad enough that my stomach is becoming an ornament in itself. I don’t want to be baring it to the world either, so I’ll just take a one-piece (or a two-peice with respectable belly coverage), thank you very much.

So. I finally found three acceptable options. Each one simple (some would say boring) and no frills. Budget-wise they can be described as:

The extra fancy pro: gorgeous, con: expensive
Middle of the road
pro: somewhat more affordable, con: two-piece
The big cheapster
pro: cheap, con: not a very good fit

I deliberated for quite a while, but knew with the summer months ahead and a pregnancy swim class starting soon, that I had to make a decision. I’m kind of embarrassed to even admit which one I prefer, but it might just end up being my one big splurge. Am I just being crazy?

The extra fancy

Middle of the road

The big cheapster
4 Responses to “Plain & Simple Maternity Swimwear”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson June 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Well, I love the first one, but you will only use it for one season. I have a 2 piece one like the second one that I liked – I wish it still fit. Depending on what size you need, I could send it to you. It does have a print on the top, but it’s a modern geometric print, not a cutesy print. Just let me know.

  2. 2 Joy June 17, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I say splurge! 😉 If you are going to be taking some swim classes that will mean that you will be getting a lot of use from the swimsuit so if you are going to be wearing it often you will want to like it! I do really like the first one and the second one is great as well!

  3. 3 christa June 20, 2008 at 6:26 am

    the first one is so beautiful, the second one is a close second though – you just have to pick the one you are going to feel comfortable in – espcially if you are going to take a swim class and get a lot of use out of it!

  4. 4 keeneye August 16, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    I promise that no one will remember the swim suit you were wearing… and neither will you after your baby is born (until you find it in a drawer one day and curse yourself for spending that much money).

    Go el-Cheapo, and splurge on something for the nursery instead!

    🙂


Comments are currently closed.




