The Big Surprise + The Big News


Just a hint at the personalized service provided by The Capital Grille

Last Thursday we flew to Denver to surprise David’s mom for her 60th birthday. As far as Sandy knew, she was simply going to meet Alan after work for a very nice dinner at a restaurant called The Capital Grille. What she didn’t know was that Andrew and Aundrea (her youngest son and his fiancée, who live in Denver) and David and I were going to “crash” their little dinner party about 15 minutes after they arrived.

The restaurant did a magnificent job of playing along. The host apologized and said that their table for two wasn’t ready, and would they mind just waiting a bit at the bar? Not too long afterward, the four of us arrived and were ushered quickly into a cozy and elegant private room where we waited for Sandy and Alan to be alerted that their table was finally ready. SURPRISE! The host opened the door and there we were. Sandy was floored, practically glued to the doorway in stunned surprise. It was priceless. Utter disbelief mingled with tears of joy. So gratifying for all of us. I wish I had taken pictures, but at the same time I was really glad I could just enjoy the moment.

Eventually we all settled down long enough to place our orders and enjoy our delicious food – crispy pan-fried calamari, fresh basil mozzerella and mango salad, porcini rubbed Delmonico dry aged steak, lobster, grilled pork chop, lobster mac & cheese, creamy potatoes au gratin, fresh asparagus with hollandaise, heirloom tomatoes… I was lucky enough to try at least a bite of almost everything, and my taste buds were singing.

Right before dessert (crème brûlée and a taste of coconut cream pie), we shared our Big News. David handed his mom her “birthday” gift from us, a little photo album. We left it practically empty, except for the first page where we included a scan of our early ultrasound. I think it took about a heartbeat to register before she looked up, wide-eyed, at both of us for confirmation. Is it true? Yep. We’re pregnant!

18 Responses to “The Big Surprise + The Big News”


  1. 1 Joy June 4, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    What a fun evening!!! Congratulations!!!

  2. 2 Sarah Jackson June 4, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Oh, Emily. I’m so happy for you. Sending great big hugs your way, my friend.

  3. 3 leslie June 4, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    a big congratulations to you!! whoohoo!

  4. 4 Pina June 5, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you, Emily! (So touchy I am these days that I got tears in my eyes when I read your post.)
    And what a surprise it must have been for David’s mom! Wonderful!

  5. 5 Belinda June 5, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Congratulations! What a creative way to tell your in-laws the good news! And what a fun evening! 🙂

  6. 6 Irene June 5, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Whoohoo is right! Congrats to you and hubby. Your post was great and just about made me cry. Surprises are the best~

  7. 7 pricklypearbloom June 5, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Oh, Emily. Congratulations! That is fantastic news, I am so happy for you!

  8. 8 christa June 5, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! sounds like the whole fam had an awesome evening 🙂

  9. 9 Deana and Justin June 5, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Hiya Emily! I heard about your exciting news from my parents. We’re so happy for you and David! Hoping for an easy and healthy pregnancy!

    -Deana and Justin

  10. 10 Bill Riski June 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Congratulations. So creative of you two. And grandkids are great!

  11. 11 Cami June 5, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Oh! I’m teary-eyed! That was such a sweet, touching and creative way to announce your wonderful news. Congratulations on your impending motherhood 🙂

  12. 12 patricia June 6, 2008 at 7:55 am

    How fun and a big congratulations!!

  13. 13 nicolette June 7, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Congratulations!!! How wonderful!

  14. 14 keeneye June 7, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Fantastic! I have a feeling we’ll be seeing a lot more of your craftiness put into baby buntings, blankets and beanies! 🙂

  15. 15 rachel June 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    How horrible am I – this must have been a day I “marked all as read”.

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! THIS IS SO GREAT.

  16. 16 Lizbeth June 17, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Congratulation! What wonderful news and what a creative way to share it!

  17. 17 Sarah G. June 18, 2008 at 7:14 am

    I’m a little late, but congrats on your big news!!!


  1. 1 Maternity Shopping 101 « Trackback on June 10, 2008 at 12:15 pm
Comments are currently closed.




