She’ll be missed


Mia (background) and Barkley on one of their many adventures

Barkley’s best friend, Mia, was put to sleep today. She had been having trouble walking last week, and slowly got worse, to the point where she could hardly move. Several trips to the vet eventually revealed a tumor near her spine.

Mia has been part of our lives for over 6 years. It is hard to imagine a future without her now. And I wonder about Barkley. How long will he look around to try and find her when we’re over at their house? How long will he be able to smell her scent in the grass? I’m sure he’ll be sad. She was his favorite playmate, the alpha of their doggy duo. She will certainly be missed.

10 Responses to “She’ll be missed”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson May 23, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Oh, Emily. I’m so sorry. It’s so hard to lose a doggy’s buddy. Give him a big hug for me.

  2. 2 Belinda May 24, 2008 at 5:25 am

    That is so sad!! I’m so sorry that there was nothing that could be done for Mia’s tumor. Poor Barkley will miss her a lot, I’m sure!

    I hope that Mia’s mommy and daddy can find it in their hearts to adopt another doggy to love when the time is right. My own 14 year old Sheltie mix died about 7 months ago and I still miss her, so I know how they must be feeling right now. However, about one month ago, I found another doggy to love at an adoption event. We’re still learning about each other, but she’s just a great dog.

    Give Barkley an extra hug and pat for me, and tell Mia’s parents that I am so sorry for their loss.

  3. 3 rachel May 24, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Oh Emily – I am so sorry for Mia’s parents loss, and for yours. The loss of a pet can be so devastating, and I think worse when another animal is involved, because you really can’t explain to them what is going on, and that is hard.

    Thanks for sharing this.

  4. 4 threesneakybugs May 24, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I’m so sorry! for you, for Barkley, for Mia’s family… I went through basically the same thing last Oct with my German Shepard. It’s devistating. I’m so glad you have this wonderful picture to remember her by. The two of them look very content there.

  5. 5 midas May 24, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Emily, I’m so sorry to hear about Mia. You will all miss her so much. Such a wonderful and precious phot of two wooly friends.
    Take care!
    Lots of love and Dutch hugs for you all and a cuddle for Barkley.

  6. 6 nicolette May 24, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Emily, I’m so sorry to hear about Mia. You will all miss her so much. Such a wonderful and precious photo of two wooly friends.
    Take care!
    Lots of love and Dutch hugs for you all and a cuddle for Barkley.

  7. 7 Irene May 25, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. I love the photo and know that you will cherish her memories for a long time to come. Loosing a family member is never easy… Take care,
    Irene

  8. 9 Pina May 26, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    A sad news, really. I am so sorry. I hope Barkley will be fine. It is hard because animals can’t tell us what they feel and we can hardly comfort them.
    We lost a cat this year, we put her to sleep too. But there was nothing else to do, she was old and sick. I still sometimes think that she is there, sleeping in my parents bedroom.

  9. 10 Cami June 2, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about Mia. It’s painful to hear the vet give such a grim diagnosis. One of our elderly kitties passed away recently and even though I knew the time was coming, it was still very hard to lose her. I hope you all and Barkley will be a comfort to each other.


Comments are currently closed.




