Garden Fresh Rhubarb & Meringue

This is our first year harvesting stalks from our three rhubarb plants. We planted them from root stock early last year, and were advised to let them just grow on their own, untouched for the first year. Unknowingly, the rhubarb variety I chose is called Victoria, which produces “medium-sized stalks, excellent in quality and flavor.” What disappointed me at first, though, was that this rhubarb turned out to be green and not red, like I had come to expect from grocery stores and farmer’s markets.

So far I’ve only made strawberry rhubarb crisps with our plants, but yesterday I was feeling a little more creative and decided to make meringues. I’ve always admired these (the crispy kind, not to gooey soft kind) as cookies and in cakes, but have never made them myself. I was surprised at how few ingredients were needed, and how a mere two egg whites could whip up to be more than triple its original size.

My original idea was to pour a strawberry rhubarb dessert mixture into the bottom of individual ramekins and then top them with “lids” of meringue. However, even though I traced the ramekins containers faithfully onto my parchment as a template, the meringue disks ended up spreading out larger than the mouths of the ramekins. Instead we just placed a meringue on a small dessert plate and ladled some of the strawberry rhubarb sauce on top. Sweet, sour, rich, light, crispy and delicious!

I used the meringue section of this recipe and saved myself the work by using our Kitchen Aid mixer with the whip attachment. Although, the process still takes some patience, because it takes over 2 hours from start to finish.

7 Responses to “Garden Fresh Rhubarb & Meringue”


  1. 1 alifelesssimple May 20, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    It looks really tastie

  2. 2 threesneakybugs May 20, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    My rhubarb produces green stalks too! At first I thought there was something wrong as it would never get ripe. Luckily, I was wrong and it’s just as tasty green as it is red.

  3. 3 Pina May 21, 2008 at 12:20 am

    My mouth started to water! It looks delicious!
    I planted rhubarb this spring, so I will have to wait a while before having my own crop and making such mouth-watering desserts.

  4. 4 rachel May 21, 2008 at 7:35 am

    um… that sounds fabulous!!!

  5. 5 christa May 21, 2008 at 8:22 am

    this looks so tasty. i only made Meringue once and it turned out ok. i never thought of growing rhubarb – hmmm maybe in next summers garden 🙂

  6. 6 pricklypearbloom May 21, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    I love love love meringues. I used to make the from scratch all the time, but then I became this crazy busy chick and stopped. Which is ridiculous, since I make other things from scratch. Trader Joes has yummy ones in big tubs, that I developed the habit of buying and having on hand, but now I’m thinking of going back to the from scratch ones. Because that’s how I want to live.

    Except muggy season is coming up which means no making meringues if you want them even remotely crispy. Bummer.

  7. 7 Victoria May 25, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Rhubarb is something I’ve always wanted to eat and yet have never got to it. The main reason is that my mother-in-law used to cook it in the way she did most fresh items when my husband was growing up, to within an inch of its life. Geoff remembers it sloppy and grey on icecream and to this day, even the idea of it like yours, lovely and red and holding its shape, he just can’t come at it. I also love the description of your variety, as we share a name I’m quite happy if those too are my characteristics!


Comments are currently closed.




