Eat Pray Love

There have been times where I just happen to buy, borrow, or be given just the right book at the just the right time when I’d enjoy it most. This time, the book is called Eat Pray Love, by Elizabeth Gilbert.

I haven’t been doing much reading lately, mostly because I’ve been getting headaches before barely finishing a chapter. Pretty annoying for someone who loves to read as much as I do. Instead, using a credit generously given by my father-in-law, my husband downloaded the book for me from Audibles.com. Thanks to the ipod, now I can just sit (or lay) listening as the story unfolds, as the author’s voice transports me to Italy, and soon to India, and later to Indonesia.

I guess I should clarify my first paragraph a little, too. I have found this book to be very interesting so far, but not because I have any desire to divorce my husband, or because I want to put off having children (as the author writes). But because I am curious about her search, and her travels. In chapter nine, she notes “My truth was exactly as I told the medicine man in Bali – I wanted to experience both. I wanted worldly enjoyment and divine transcendence – the dual glories of a human life. I wanted what the Greeks called kalos kai agathos, the singular balance of the good and the beautiful.”

I found this idea to be so profound. Because in a way, that is what we all want to some extent (or maybe I’m just speaking for myself here) – to enjoy the pleasures of the world (a life full of good food, true love, travels, enriching experiences and happiness) and yet to also be enlightened, to have an understanding (religious or otherwise) but without giving up everything, to not have to be a beggar, or a monk, or to give up all our worldly possessions. I think we’d all like to achieve that sort of balance in our lives.

4 Responses to “Eat Pray Love”


  1. 1 Pina May 12, 2008 at 1:25 am

    You couldn’t write it better what I wish in my life. Exactly that sort of balance. Though, it is somehow difficult for me to achieve it. At least in this moment.

  2. 2 Holy Vataha May 12, 2008 at 7:37 am

    I have heard lots of good things about that book, I’m developing quite a list of “summer reading”

    I loooooovvveeee audio books! We drive to Erie almost every weekend and listening to a book really makes the 2 hour drive fly by! I listen to them while doing cardio (it keeps my mind off the sweating), doing design work, or sometimes just going for a walk!

  3. 3 Irene May 12, 2008 at 10:17 am

    I’ve heard alot about this book and I know just the right person to get it for.
    It is all about balance and IF we can remember to try to achieve it.

  4. 4 crosspollination May 18, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I, too, read Eat, Pray, Love at a time when I needed it several years ago. Strangely, it has cropped up many times over the last few months, and your post has spurred me to seek it out on audio. By the way, the planter you showed in the last post was most stunning. I love your way with color and texture. Hope you’re feeling better now (and have another tub of ice cream in the freezer:)).
    Brooke


Comments are currently closed.



Paperseed's Photos

Leo_age1_age4_final_7x10

fishkamp_logo

Girls at Japanese Garden, Portland, OR

More Photos

Other Things I Make


