Making Button Earrings

Today I made button earrings. A fast, fun, and affordable way to add new pieces to a jewelry collection. All you need are some buttons, glue and blank earring posts.

To keep the posts secure while working, I stuck them into small rectangles of foam for support. This also allows gravity to help secure the pieces after you apply a drop of glue and then position the button. I’m not a glue expert, so I just used Aleene’s Clear Gel Tacky Glue that I have on hand. Let them dry overnight and the next morning you’ll have brand new earrings to play with!

For packaging, I re-used one of the original paperbacks that a set of buttons came on, which then fits perfectly in an old altoids tin.

Correction: Aleene’s Tacky Glue did not work. After peeling off the residue I tried again with Instant Krazy Glue, which provided a much better (hopefully permanent) bond. I’d love to hear if anyone has any other glue suggestions.

11 Responses to “Making Button Earrings”


  1. 1 rachel April 2, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I would try E6000 that stuff holds anything together!

    check out this site, it has recommendations on what to use to glue stuff together http://www.thistothat.com/

  2. 2 Denise April 2, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Very cute! I haven’t made jewelry in quite awhile, so there may be something better on the market that I’m not aware of. But I used to use a two part epoxy. Stinky and messy, but at least they stayed glued!

  3. 3 Sarah Jackson April 2, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Those are adorable! If you go to http://artsycraftybabe.typepad.com, Beki just did a tutorial on button brooches and she gave glue recommendations. I have one of her brooches, and it is definitely stuck together.

  4. 4 Pina April 3, 2008 at 12:24 am

    A wonderful idea. So simple.
    I wanted to have my ears pierced when I was 17. Actually I don’t wear any jewelery but I like it anyway. I have unfortunately no experience with glues, I only use the one for paper…

  5. 5 Belinda April 3, 2008 at 5:29 am

    Those are very cute earrings! 🙂 Aleene’s glues used to be very abundant and she had a glue to fit every need. You probably need a glue that is more for wood, metal, or plastic as opposed to just a tacky glue or fabric glue. Look for other Aleene products in your local store to see if others are available, although it seems that you have received some very good suggestions for glues that might work for your projects.

  6. 6 VegeYum April 4, 2008 at 4:08 am

    I love these earrings! What a great idea.

  7. 7 painted fish studio April 4, 2008 at 8:52 am

    such a cute idea, and the packaging is fabulous. the glue tips from all the commenters have been valuable – thanks!

  8. 8 christa April 10, 2008 at 8:58 am

    so cute! i have been wanting button earings for a long time. i may need to make these too!

  9. 9 threesneakybugs April 12, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Very fun! I’ve got a pile of buttons I’m going to go through for possibilities.

  10. 10 Christine June 22, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I’ve been wanting to do this FOREVERR!
    Where did you get the blank earring posts??

    I need them really baddd

    Please Please email me at x3chae@gmail.com and tell me

    Thanks so much 😀

  11. 11 christine August 9, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    please do you have a web site where i can get the earring posts i have searched everywhere thanks chris


Comments are currently closed.




