Little Chicks and Weird Weather

Has it really been a week since I posted last? Sorry about that. One good reason was because I lost my camera. I tend to be such a visual person myself, that I guess I feel that my words are just not enough. I could not find that camera anywhere. David and I looked and looked. A little over a week ago, I finally got fed up with my messy desk and dumped everything into bags (to be sorted later), so I thought for sure that’s where I’d find it. But no. We looked in my purse, in the car, in the office, under the sofa cushions, in all my bags, everywhere we could think of. See what great shots I’d be missing?


Downy and adorable, huddling for warmth

Caught in the act of eating

Nap time for this little chick

Luckily, we still have our old digital camera. I’m so used to my newer camera that I found it harder to use, heavy and bulky. But I was able to get these adorable pics of Marcy and Alex’s new flock of chicks. Aren’t they so sweet? I think they said there were two Americanas, two Rhode Island Reds and two Australorps. We’d have chickens in a heart beat if it weren’t for our home owner’s association. I was entranced just watching them eat, then sleep, then eat again. There little chirp! chirp! sounds were especially innocent and endearing. They’ll be producing almost an egg a day in about 5 months.

The same day we got to see their new chicks, the weather went a little crazy. First it was sunny, then it would snow, then it would be sunny again and then it hailed! Big, gravel-sized balls of hail pounding everywhere and accumulating rapidly. Here are a couple pictures of that.


A shot with David’s shoes, for perspective

With a fresh-picked camellia blossom from M & A’s tree.

Lastly, I thought I should mention that David was the hero who finally found my camera. And guess where it was? In my purse. Where we BOTH had already looked, and which I carry around almost everywhere. Turns out it fell into the small zipper compartment that I hardly use. And David was all Are you sure it’s not in your purse? So he looked again and there it was. Safe and sound, right beneath my very nose the entire time.

7 Responses to “Little Chicks and Weird Weather”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson March 31, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    those little chicks are so so cute. My sister in law has some too and I’m very jealous. I need to find out if we can have chickens where we live. 3 blocks away, people have mini-farms with cows sleeping in the front yard, so I think we’d be okay.

    So glad you found your camera! I wish all the things I lose would turn up in my purse.

  2. 2 puremotif March 31, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    that is so funny that you looked and looked and it wasn’t there! that happens sometimes. usually i’m the one who finds lost items though 🙂

    rightnow our biggest lost item is my husband’s wedding ring. sigh.

  3. 3 Irene March 31, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Isn’t the weather crazy?! The kids were outside sliding in the hail and had a blast.
    Funny about your camera, but let’s just say that I know exactly how frustrating it is. I’ve done the same thing many times!

  4. 4 lizlangley March 31, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    ooo chickens! i would love to have chickens (in theory, anyway!) what a beautiful flower, too…

  5. 5 Pina April 1, 2008 at 5:06 am

    I really missed your posts. It seems that those little dwarfs who hide things visited you. 🙂
    I also thought for some time that I have to share all sorts of photos with the readers but lately I see that also words tell a lot. Although, I still prefer post with photos.
    Cute chicks, it would be so nice to cuddle them or have one at home until it gets bigger… 🙂

  6. 6 pricklypearbloom April 1, 2008 at 10:13 am

    you must have a big purse! I could never lose my little camera in my purse. 🙂 Glad you found it!

  7. 7 kara ward April 9, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    So clever..I would have never thought of that!


Comments are currently closed.




