Teapot Button

I picked up this button the last time I was at Mill End. I’ve never really been a button person A) because they usually look too old-fashioned, or ornate to me and B) because I don’t know how to sew a button-hole yet. But I browsed the racks on my way out and came across this elegant little teapot novelty button by the German manufacturer Dill Buttons. I actually walked away, twice, but I knew I’d regret it if I came back and it wasn’t there.

The thing is, what am I going to do with it? Where could I put it and make it look like it belongs? Probably not a large project, which would just swallow it (it’s not quite an inch tall). Maybe something asian? And smallish? A clutch, maybe? Or does the teapot shape look too food-y to be put on an accessory? Not to mention I could never carry a clutch. I would put it down and loose it in a heartbeat. So… anyone willing to share some ideas?

4 Responses to “Teapot Button”


  1. 1 Belinda March 7, 2008 at 6:49 am

    That’s a cute button! I could see it used as an embellishment on a decorative pillow, or what about sewing another hobo slouch bag in some whimsical food themed fabrics and using that button as embellishment?

    I could also see that button used as a “pin” of sorts on a sweater or blouse, but it might be too heavy for that.

    I bet you will come up with some very good ideas. 🙂

    Happy Sewing!

  2. 2 pricklypearbloom March 7, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Wow, all of Belinda’s ideas are great, and I have no other suggestions. I’m sure you will come up with something great, though, you always do!

  3. 3 painted fish studio March 7, 2008 at 9:13 am

    would it be too cheesy to put it on a tea cozy?

    i tend to work more with paper. i could see the button on a cute handmade box that holds teabags, with the button on the top lid.


  1. 1 Nostalgia « Trackback on March 7, 2008 at 5:33 pm
Comments are currently closed.




