Fertility Charm & Sewing


For perspective, the white contents in the center are grains of rice.

I recently made this fertility pendant for one of my swap partners who is trying to get pregnant. It took me some time to research the traditional ingredients carried in charms like these, but once I knew what to look for I found all kinds of information. For this purpose, I included only herbs, seeds, and grains, although stones (Basalt, Carnelian, Tiger’s Eye, Garnet, Rose Quartz) seem to be pretty popular, too. You can’t tell from the picture, but the vial is tiny, about 1/2 an inch tall. Then I put it into a vellum envelope and sealed it with a wax seal for presentation.

Meanwhile, I’ve been struggling the past few days on a new hobo/tote bag for myself. I saw this particular style while I was out shopping a couple weeks ago. The fabric was a red sailors stripe that I didn’t like, so I thought I’d try making my own. The outside is almost finished. It took me three tries to attach the oval bottom without the seams looking like hell. I’ve never attached an oval piece before. Is there some secret I don’t know about? I used a straight stitch, but there were all these little puckers. So I did it again about a 1/4 inch from that seam, and then again once more until it looked semi-reasonable. Now I’m in the process of sewing the lining pieces. I finally had to put it away though, so I wouldn’t get too frustrated. Being a beginner sucks sometimes. Would someone please tell those pattern makers to come up with some different styles, because this would have been so much easier with a pattern. Sigh. Hopefully, it will be complete and ready to share by this weekend.

9 Responses to “Fertility Charm & Sewing”


  1. 1 Pina February 29, 2008 at 1:28 am

    What a great idea! I like the charm you made, it is so tiny… I am not religious but I do believe a bit in such things as charms. Sometimes I wonder where do such beliefs I have come from.

    I can’t wait to see your new bag, the process of making sounds rather complicated. And you are so right about us, beginners at sewing! Couldn’t agree more! 🙂 Anyway, it is rather comforting because I am not the only one making mistakes. Besides, we can learn from our or other people’s mistakes, so sharing the experience is very useful. Good luck!

  2. 2 nicolette February 29, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I love the charm you made. So thoughtful and charming. I love vellum envelopes and wax seals! Good luck with sewing a Hobo tote bag!

  3. 3 Belinda February 29, 2008 at 7:44 am

    I like the charm. 🙂

    Regarding your bag and sewing the oval piece, those can be tricky, but there are a few tips that might help you. Sometimes, in order to get those curved seams to fit properly, you need to clip the curved edges a bit because this will allow the fabric to spread and fit the other piece better. Don’t clip too far into it though! Without seeing the pattern, I can’t say for sure, but you might want to stay stitch around the edge of the oval, maybe 3/8 inches or 1/2 inch, depending on what your regular seam allowance is/was, and then clip just to that stitching, to see if that helps. This might take some experimenting, though, to get the look you want. And always remember to press well during every stage of sewing construction because this truly does make a difference in the finished product.

    Happy Sewing! 🙂

  4. 4 pricklypearbloom February 29, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Yeah, I tend to be the kind of person who either needs alot of detailed instructions, or makes it up as I go. And I never know when either of those sides is going to take over.

  5. 5 painted fish studio February 29, 2008 at 9:05 am

    such a neat idea. i have a good friend that is trying to get pregnant, and she’s a bit frustrated. a charm may help to lift her spirits!

  6. 6 Carla December 13, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I love the little fertility charm…My husband and I are trying to get pregnant and I have been looking for something to bring us good luck. Is there anyway that you could make one for me and I will buy it from you? It is really important to me and I would really love the help. Thanks so much and let me know!

  7. 7 Carra December 17, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Hi, I love the idea of the charm…I have been trying to research the herbs etc that you would have used but I am having no luck. My cousin and his wife are desperately trying for a baby and I’d love to make something like this for them.
    Would you feel ok about telling me what you used for the charm?
    Thank you so much in advance.
    Carra


  1. 1 Hobo Slouch Bag « Trackback on March 3, 2008 at 11:48 pm
  2. 2 Hobo Slouch Bag at Paperseed Trackback on June 15, 2009 at 9:03 pm
Comments are currently closed.




