VitaminWater + Timberline = Free Snowboarding


A photo of Mt Hood I took this past fall, through the windshield of a moving car

David and I went snowboarding at Timberline Ski Area on Mt Hood today. They were running a special where you could get a free lift ticket just for bringing in an empty bottle of VitaminWater. A sweet deal since tickets run around $50 per person. The weather was mostly cloudy, but not too cold.

Ten years ago, when I first taught snowboarding, I was the only female instructor. Needless to say, my male co-workers were much faster and more daring, but I learned to keep up and hold my own pretty fast. Now I’m content just to coast at my own speed and just enjoy the ride. Of course, the thrill isn’t the same, but every now and then I impress myself, that I can still ride with style, albeit for barely half the time. A half a day on the slopes now is plenty enough for me. 🙂

6 Responses to “VitaminWater + Timberline = Free Snowboarding”


  1. 1 Carrie February 23, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Hi Emily,
    I just want to tell you that I absolutely adore your craftsmanship and enjoy very much of all your pretty photos. Thank you so much for sharing them with us! I also like the layout of your web page. It’s very clean and user friendly. I just started to learn about Worpress a few days ago, mainly inspired by your site. I was just wondering if you don’t mind me asking. How do you create all the top tags under your banner– Blog, About, Barkley, Favorite Photos, Birdhouse… etc. I found them real nice to organize the pages.
    Anyway, have a nice weekend and keep up the good work 🙂
    Carrie.

  2. 2 Jason February 24, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Aaawww, I’m jealous. I moved to Michigan in August for graduate school from Portland. My wife and I miss it tremendously. We get some good snow, but there’s no mountains or forests or any good hiking…any of the good stuff Oregon has. Even the coffee and micro-brews suck! And nobody has a clue about recycling. It’s killing us! But we’ll be back in Portland in April to visit family. Definitely taking a trip to the Mountain. I hear it’s an incredible year up there.

  3. 4 Kory February 26, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Strange. You left a message on my blog last week. I just googled “Vitamin Water and Timberline” to get more info on the promotion and I was directed to your blog. Isn’t it funny how things work sometimes.

  4. 5 Pina February 27, 2008 at 3:59 am

    I haven’t been skiing for about 15 years! And I have never tried snowboarding… What a lazy person I am. Well, perhaps one reason is also this that we don’t get much snow during the winters anymore for about that length of time and that the ski-lift tickets are so expensive. Really tempting, those white hills on your photos! 🙂

  5. 6 MichaellaS July 20, 2009 at 8:22 am

    tks for the effort you put in here I appreciate it!


Comments are currently closed.




