Handmade Valentine Cards (a personal swap)

This year for Valentine’s Day I asked David for just one thing, a handmade (by him) Valentine’s card. No chocolates, or flowers, or store-bought card. Just a little of his personal time and effort. And I promised not to judge him. That whatever he chose to make would be just fine. I really meant that. And in return, I would make him a handmade card, too.

Look at this beauty. I would never have expected this in a million years. It looks like a rolled up piece of paper in the photo, but it is actually a little cylindrical box made of heavy paper, secured by a red thread around two eyelets. About 4 inches across.

This is what it looks like inside – surprise! Filled with little strips of pink paper, each with a word on one side and the matching design from the container on the other. Words like love, forever, we, you, mine, desire, romantic, emily, david, always. I could re-arrange the little strips into many different combinations. Pretty and clever. I’m clearly blown away.

This is the card that I made for David. He really loves to flyfish. On our drive back from the coast on my birthday, we stopped at a tiny scrapbooking shop in the seaside town of Gearhart, where I picked up my first collection of brads. That’s right. Before making this card I was a Brad Virgin. I don’t know why I waited – they’re so fun! Such a variety of shapes, sizes and colors. I purchased these little fish, the dragonfly, and the heart paperclips, chosen individually out of tiny drawers. They worked perfectly for this card. The writing on top says “Fishin’ for your love.” The little fish hooks are made of staples I bent with needle-nosed pliers. The inside reads “…and now I’m hooked on you! Happy Valentine’s Day!” embellished with two red heart eyelets.

I’m so proud of us.

9 Responses to “Handmade Valentine Cards (a personal swap)”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson February 14, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I don’t even have words for how perfect those both are. Wow!

  2. 2 Joy February 14, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Wow! You both are so creative! What a great idea for a personal swap…we may have to try this next year! 😉

  3. 3 Pina February 15, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Both are really beautiful. So thoughtful. You are so lucky! 🙂

  4. 4 leslie February 15, 2008 at 6:11 am

    wow. david did an amazing job. and you, too. i meant to suggest that for this year. but … i will suggest it for next year. for sure.

  5. 5 Belinda February 15, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Those are great cards! You both did a wonderful job! 😀 I think David could give lots of men a few lessons in the art of romance. 😉

  6. 6 puremotif February 15, 2008 at 6:42 am

    haha. brad virgin 🙂

  7. 7 pricklypearbloom February 15, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Wow, impressive!

  8. 8 Anne February 15, 2008 at 11:27 am

    you two are just so adorable! awwwww.


Comments are currently closed.




