Crafty Cuteness – Felt Baby Shoes

I got my haircut today. I’ve been going to the same stylist for over a year (maybe two?) which is a record for me. She is only a couple weeks away from giving birth to her second child, a baby girl this time, and I decided a while back that I’d sew up something simple to take along with me.

Lately, I’ve noticed several cute online baby shoe tutorials. I thought it would be fun to give little mary janes a try. Instructions usually call for wool felt, because it is more durable. I decided to use craft felt because a) it’s softer, b) it comes in many more baby appropriate colors and c) I already had some on hand. Since I was sewing for a newborn, she’d grow out of them in a matter of weeks anyway.

To make the strap, I used papercrafting ribbon. It’s the kind with the adhesive strip on the back, and I hand-sewed it to the inside of each shoe. This way there is no need for velcro, elastic or snaps (none of which I’ve worked with yet) because it will stick delicately over the baby’s sock and attach to the other side of the shoe. I’d like to try other fastenings in the future, but this worked fine for a first pair. Cute, huh?

See my second pair and links to baby shoe tutorials and templates here, and baby boy booties here.

12 Responses to “Crafty Cuteness – Felt Baby Shoes”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson January 25, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Goodness those are cute!!! Wow! I love them.

  2. 3 pricklypearbloom January 25, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Aw, so nice of you! I hope she liked them.

  3. 4 karynforyou January 25, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    very cute and the sticky backing will help keep them on!

  4. 5 leslie January 26, 2008 at 6:17 am

    okay. those are just the cutest. little pair of shoes. wish i was the little gal receiving them.

  5. 6 Belinda January 26, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Those are cute little shoes! You did a great job on them! 😀

  6. 7 denise January 31, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Those are really cute and where did you get the tutorial.

  7. 8 ginger May 30, 2009 at 11:24 am

    I appreciate all your hard work.Thank you for sharing your ideas with all of us!
    hugs


  1. 1 Babyness « Trackback on February 23, 2008 at 7:53 pm
  2. 2 Handmade Baby Boy Booties « Trackback on July 23, 2008 at 10:40 am
  3. 3 Babyness - Cutest Baby Shoe Tutorials at Paperseed Trackback on March 1, 2009 at 12:45 pm
  4. 4 Handmade Baby Boy Booties at Paperseed Trackback on June 15, 2009 at 9:02 pm
Comments are currently closed.




