This thing called Sun

Yesterday I woke up to honest-to-goodness sunlight streaming through the house. What a miracle! There has hardly been even a partial day of sun since our return from the holidays, mostly just cold, rain, grey, rain, freezing, grey, overcast, rain, cloudy, dreary, rain. I’m sure it has been affecting my mood. The sun makes me happy. I like a few days of rain, okay, but weeks of it? No can do. So why do I suffer through this lousy weather here in Portland? Because the summers are phenomenal. As is autumn, and spring, too.

I ran out of the house almost immediately to snap photos of the frosty ice crystals that formed overnight on the plants and then later the three of us dressed warm and spent the afternoon along the Wilson River. David fished, Barkley explored and marked his territory, and I took photographs and read (fingers were too cold to knit, although I did bring it along). It was so good to go for a drive in the country and get out of the house.

2 Responses to “This thing called Sun”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson January 17, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    winter in Portland seems to take forever. In my ideal world, I’ll be spending November through May in Phoenix and the rest of the year in Portland. I just can’t take the never ending grey, but I remember it being such a gift when the sun peeked out.

  2. 2 pricklypearbloom January 18, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Sounds like such a lovely day! Yay you!


Comments are currently closed.




