Summation, Holiday 2007


With David (foreground), Aundrea (hidden) and Andrew at Breckenridge

I can hardly believe that it is the first week of 2008 already. Now that things are calming down I feel like I finally have a chance to think, and reflect. The past few weeks have just been so crazy/wonderful. I started receiving a busy stream of freelance work around the end of November, then we celebrated David’s birthday the second week of December in Las Vegas/ Death Valley, on the third week we left for almost a two week visit in Colorado with David’s family over Christmas and New Year’s and the past couple of days have been spent wildly catching up on all the freelance work. I feel like I am just now able to take a full breath after all that excitement!

I didn’t write a lot about the holidays, too busy enjoying each and every day I guess. Although I didn’t get to spend it with my own parents and sister, spending time with David’s family was really great. I feel very lucky to be able to say that. I didn’t miss grey and rainy Portland hardly at all. Yes, it was super cold, but there was snow, too. Lovely, white, sparkling snow tempered with lots of sun and blue skies.

David and Paolo
David and nephew Paolo (love that chicken hat!) on the 4-wheeler.
Old Colorado City
A quick stop through charming Old Colorado City

Christmas gifts this year were simply astounding. Lots of precious handmade items along with amazingly thoughtful and useful ones. I really hope the recipients of our presents (many handmade, some purchased) felt the same. I wish I had thought to photograph some of those things, but that’s okay. Actually, if I had the time, I’d catalogue each and every thing I received. Seriously. I feel like each item holds that much specialness. It’s a good thing that I’ll never expect to have another Christmas exactly like this one.

Am I starting to sound a little gushy? I can’t help it. It’s really how I feel. Each day was an adventure. And lest I forget, a short list includes: attending mass, snowboarding at Breckenridge, watching butterflies, spotting deer, eating delicious meals, enjoying the snow, watching indoor skydiving, learning to knit hats, driving the 4-wheeler, driving a brand new Honda Civic, sewing my first slippers, cooking a soufflé, seeing fireworks on Pike’s Peak, making cookies, watching movies (notably Ratatouille and Surf’s Up), playing games, reading (Kite Runner), and so much more.


Sunset over the mountains

At this moment, I feel completely blessed. And reminds me of a saying in one of our new gifts, a 2008 calendar with photos of the family (including pets!) along with dates for birthdays, anniversaries and other special occasions given to us by David’s brother, Andrew, and his fiancée Aundrea:

“Happiness resides not in possessions and not in gold; the feeling of happiness dwells in the soul.” -Democritus

1 Response to “Summation, Holiday 2007”


  1. 1 pricklypearbloom January 7, 2008 at 10:41 am

    It sounds like you had a really wonderful holiday, I’m glad to hear it!


Comments are currently closed.




