Look what I got!

sewing machine

This week I was shocked to receive a very large, very heavy UPS delivery that contained this BRAND NEW SEWING MACHINE! Turns out it was an early Christmas gift from my in-laws!!! In all fairness they did warn me a “package” was coming and sent me the tracking number, but still! After my initial astonishment I bounced around the house like a crazy person, clapping my hands like a gleeful little girl just presented with her first pony. Luckily my husband had the presence of mind to suggest I call and thank them right away.

I’ve had it now for a few days and I still shake my head in wonder when I see it. I’m embarrassed to admit that I have not used it yet. Part of the reason is that the two craft projects I’ve been working on the past few days required only hand-stitching. The other part is because I’m a little scared of it. I started reading the manual the day I got it, so I kind of get it. How fun will it be to have all those cool stitches and fancy feet available? Later today I’m going to tackle the next small sewing project on my list, so we’ll see how it goes. It’s bound to be easier than sewing with the old Sears Roebuck and Co. Kenmore that I’ve been using! 🙂

8 Responses to “Look what I got!”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson December 2, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Good for you! Just get in there and have fun using it.

  2. 2 Belinda December 2, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    What a wonderful surprise! Of course, I think any gift related to sewing is a wonderful surprise! 😉 😀

    Get some fabric scraps and practice using the sewing machine with the regular sewing stitches and the decorative stitches; you’ll have tons of fun! And if you practice on scraps, there are no worries about messing something up. Of course, if I were you, I’d only do a little practicing and then I would get that sewing machine hummming along! 😉 😀

    Happy Sewing!

  3. 3 Sarah December 2, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    How awesome! Have fun with your new toy. Can’t wait to see what you make.

    (I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. 🙂 )

  4. 4 heidi December 2, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Just go for it! Start with a simple project and just fly. You won’t ever look back because you’ll be having so much fun!

  5. 5 patricia December 2, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    oh wow! what a great gift!! lucky you. just jump right in (says the gal that fears her own rinky dink machine!)

  6. 6 nicolette December 3, 2007 at 12:03 am

    Such a wonderful gift! Indeed, take a lot of scraps, sew them together with all kind of stitches, dont be afraid of failure. Nobody knows what you are making or doing! It might turn out very nice!

  7. 7 pricklypearbloom December 3, 2007 at 7:24 am

    woohoo! What a great pressie! I’ve been eyeing up a new sewing machine too. I’ve got an old Sears (or JCPenny, maybe?) monster too, and it works just fine, but I’m starting to want to do projects that the machine to be able to actually do the stitches that the it says it can do.

    Have fun!


  1. 1 The perfect IKEA craft table « Trackback on January 9, 2008 at 3:14 pm
Comments are currently closed.




