Neighborhood Coyotes

barkley on hike

Barkley on a hike at Stub Stewart State Park

As I sit down to work at my computer, I hear a fire truck siren going off in the distance, followed by a clear, harmonious howl. David and I turn to each other and smile because we know the howl is coming from Barkley, who is outside at the moment. I’ve only seen him do this a handful of times, but it is simply adorable to watch and it doesn’t last long. I barely get a glimpse of him through the window (never long enough for me to get my camera, argh!). It’s heartening to see a shelter dog who used to be so shy and quiet, feel free to express himself like that.

This reminds me of that coyote I saw on my street last week. A pretty strange occurrence since I don’t live all that far from the city. And no, I wasn’t just seeing things, and no, it wasn’t just a dog on the loose. I know it was a coyote. I’ve seen the signs by our neighborhood lake, and I’ve heard about them from a neighbor, but I never in a million years expected to see one myself. I was just driving home one evening and turned onto our block to find it right in the street. It took one quick look at the car and then trotted away, out of sight. Wow! It was really cool.

Here are some interesting articles from the Audubon Society of Portland on Living with Urban Coyotes and a story from a neighboring community website.

5 Responses to “Neighborhood Coyotes”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson November 13, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Barkley is so cute! My dog howls with fire trucks too – in perfect pitch. It’s the only time she howls and we love it.

    We have coyotes here too – I think it’s why all the backyards are surrounded with masonry block walls – to keep them out.

  2. 2 Belinda November 14, 2007 at 6:14 am

    Barkley is just adorable! He is fortunate to have such a great family now. 🙂 My little dog used to “sing” when we sang Happy Birthday or if I played the piano. Sadly, she went to the Rainbow Bridge recently and I still miss her. 😦

    Give Barkley an extra pat and hug for me today, and tell him thanks for making me smile because he’s just so cute! 🙂

  3. 3 pricklypearbloom November 14, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Wow, I can’t beleive coyotes are so close to you! That’s amazing. I think, sans car, I would be a tad freaked out though, even though I know they are more scared of me than me of them.

  4. 4 pricklypearbloom November 14, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Ok, well, maybe I should say I would be more freaked out for any ourdoor cats in the neighborhood!

  5. 5 nicolette November 14, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Barkley is tooo cute! Does he live outdoors?


Comments are currently closed.




