Apron Class

Earlier this month I signed up for an apron class at Bolt. I was thinking it would accomplish two things 1) be my first opportunity to learn to read a pattern and 2) produce a holiday gift at the same time. Bolt has other classes I’d like to try eventually, but they all happen to be waitlisted (which makes me wonder why the apron class is not very popular). What I really need is the Zipper clinic, although thanks to Nicolette, who sent me this tutorial link, I think my next attempt will go a bit smoother.

Sally, the instructor for the apron class, recently emailed the two pattern options and the supply list. Ironically, I was standing right behind Sally during the Amy Karol book signing, although I didn’t know it at the time.

Anyway, the apron pattern choices are:

aprons
Flirty Skirty or French Flea Market Apron

Neither are quite what I had in mind, but I think I’m going to go with the Flirty Skirty. Its full-size seems more useful and it looks like it comes with a version for a half apron. I’m not too into ruffles, except maybe for a little girl’s apron, and I can’t say I’m into ric-rac either. But the experience is really what I’m looking for.

Aprons sites like these are really getting me inspired:

Tie One On, Olive Juice & Co, Hostess Blog mentioning Anthropologie’s Holiday Aprons, and of course, these aprons from Martha

4 Responses to “Apron Class”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson November 13, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    You can do ric rac with a really modern fabric and it’ll be adorable. Or just dive into the whole kitschy retro vibe. Alternatively, if you’re truly allergic to ric rac you can substitute bias tape and it’ll look great.

  2. 2 Belinda November 14, 2007 at 6:12 am

    Aprons can be lots of fun to sew! 🙂

  3. 3 VegeYum November 16, 2007 at 4:50 am

    Hey I love these aprons. Make me one?

  4. 4 karynforyou January 11, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I just wrote on my blog about wanting to follow a pattern this year and put in a zipper! I opened my apron pattern, had a mild panic attak, took a few measurments and did my own thing! Turned out o.k except it was too big. Have you seen the heavenly Hostess aprons at
    http://heavenlyhostess.com/our_products.html? That is what I am aiming for!


Comments are currently closed.




