Bend-the-Rules Sewing, signed

I have been reading so many blog posts (1,2,3,4,5,etc) about fellow Portlander Amy Karol’s book Bend-the-Rules Sewing, that I was really curious to attend her book-signing event at Bolt tonight. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but let me just say that I am glad I went and that Amy is really nice. I kind of wish I had one of the projects out of her book to share, like many of the other attendees, but I just picked up a copy tonight.

I introduced myself and mentioned how I was new to sewing and that her book was only the second I’ve purchased (this being the first). She seemed genuinely happy for me and took a few minutes to point out a couple things, like how the Charming Handbag project (love this!) is really fun, but was missing some vital dimensions, which could really frustrate someone just starting out. She talked about providing paper patterns (like Lotta’s book, I imagine) next time, and how it’s too bad that people currently have to enlarge the templates on a copier. Luckily, that won’t be a problem for me because we have a scanner and I’ll be able to tile the pages when I print for patterns larger than letter size.

I can’t decide which project I’ll try first, but my favorites are the Accessorized Canine Dog Collar, the Amazing Tea Towel Apron, the No Cash Wallet, and the Artsy Clutch. Anyway, it was really sweet of Amy to spend a little time getting to know each person, instead of just signing books. Even better, she gave each signing a little something extra (which I completely appreciate) by adding a small sticker that says To a very special Bend-the-Rules sewing person, (heart), you rock.

6 Responses to “Bend-the-Rules Sewing, signed”


  1. 1 Belinda November 9, 2007 at 6:12 am

    I’m not familiar with this particular sewing book, but I do know how much fun it can be to meet the author. It sounds like she has some great ideas for beginners who only want to tackle small projects at first, and it sounds like she makes the sewing fun as well. 🙂

    I have one other book that I always recommend to new sewers because it covers everything from A to Z regarding sewing. This is a book that I have in my own sewing library and I’ve used it so much that some of the pages are literally falling out of it. 😀 The book is “Reader’s Digest’s Guide to Sewing”. Sometimes you can find it in the local library as well.

    Happy Sewing! 🙂

  2. 2 Sarah Jackson November 9, 2007 at 6:41 am

    How fun! Yet another time when I wish I were in Portland. Sigh.

    I’ve made the artsy clutch and it’s a great first project for the book, since it’s flexible on sizing and you make it into whatever you want. Plus, it’s an opportunity to shop for vintage buttons!

  3. 3 domesticbootcamp November 9, 2007 at 9:43 am

    This is one book that I will definately have to check out! I’m a novice sewer and love the fact that in the northwest, hand-made is a-okay. Amy Karol sounds like an author well worth checking out!

  4. 4 ivyarts November 11, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Now I definitely have to put that book on my Christmas list. I’ve been eyeing it for months. Amy’s blog is a great read too. Happy sewing… beware it’s addicting (especially the fabric)!


  1. 1 Apron Class « Trackback on November 13, 2007 at 12:41 pm
  2. 2 Apron Class at Paperseed Trackback on June 15, 2009 at 9:03 pm
Comments are currently closed.




