A little down time

I haven’t really posted in a couple days, which is unfortunate, because I was on a roll there for a while. I guess I’m feeling a little down right now. Things are still good, though. David and I are healthy. We’re both picking up a little more freelance work. I recently sold 3 of our recycled birdhouses on Etsy (2 were custom orders!) and painted a couple more replacements (1,2,3). I picked up some fun new fabric at Ikea this weekend to continue my “learn to sew” projects and yesterday David and I spent the day fishing with two other guys on a boat on the beautiful Columbia River (check out the catch). Pretty hard life, eh?

I know that making the adjustment from full-time to freelance is not an easy one, but I can’t quite shake the remnants of doubt, even after this long. I think it is affecting our relationship, too. In some ways I expected more from us. So its hard. Plus, we made a questionable purchase recently, which will probably turn out fine, as long as we get past the second-thoughts we’re having.

Anyway, I’m almost back to normal. I’m one of those people who likes a certain amount of balance regarding work, being social, physical exercise, mental time, and quiet “me” time. The past week has been unusually heavy on the social and almost nil on the exercise and quiet “me” time. I rectified some of that tonight with a nice long run/walk with Barkley, which helped (tempered with a little comfort food – a slice of toasted Oatnut bread minus the crust, spread with Nutella, plus a glass of milk).

3 Responses to “A little down time”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson November 6, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Those birdhouses are beautiful. We need to get back to making ours – that’s what Gunnar wants to give as gifts for Christmas this year.

    I so hear you on the uncertainty thing involved in freelancing. In a way, there’s power and control in making your own way, but there’s also fear. I’ve been feeling that too.

    So jealous of the fishing time. It looks glorious.

  2. 2 puremotif November 7, 2007 at 8:26 am

    I hope things get easier. Doubt is natural – I think you have made a great decision. It’s a tough time, so it’s good you knwo what you need to do too feel less stressed.

  3. 3 nicolette November 7, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I can imagine how you must be feeling. I stopped working after 20 years to study graphic design. During my study I started my own little design studio. Thanks to my husband’s income I could ‘play around’. When you both have to rely on free lance assignments it can be difficult. But, try to be ingenious how to allure new customers. I really hope things will become easier for the both of you! You made a great decision for a reason, don’t forget about that!


Comments are currently closed.




