Holy Sh*#! – My Dream House is for Sale!

kaufmann House Richard Neutra

I just found out here that one of my dream houses is going up for auction. And OMG is it gorgeous! I’m talking about the Richard Neutra designed Kaufmann Desert House in Palm Springs, California. I’ve never seen it in person, but after touring the Kaufmann’s Fallingwater by Frank Lloyd Wright this past summer I just know that it will be similarly superb in every way. Even more so, perhaps, because it’s closer to my personal ideal of modernism. How I would love to live in such beautifully open spaces, surrounded by breathtaking views, streaming sunlight, and modern simplicity.

With all my heart I hope it is purchased by a preservation group that will allow visitors to tour this magnificent piece of modern historical architecture. Or at least someone willing to give it the care, admiration and love it deserves.

Read the NY Times article here. Photos shown are from this slideshow.

kaufmann House Richard Neutra

kaufmann House Richard Neutra

3 Responses to “Holy Sh*#! – My Dream House is for Sale!”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson November 2, 2007 at 10:30 am

    That’s really an amazing home – especially in its desert setting. It’s my dream home too!

  2. 2 VegeYum November 8, 2007 at 3:58 am

    Mmm, now it is my dreamhouse too.

  3. 3 Magik Quilter March 24, 2008 at 4:02 am

    I’m with Sara what a setting.


Comments are currently closed.




