Sewing Project #2 – Pillow Covers

striped pillow

I just finished my second sewing project – two striped pillow covers following the easy instructions out of Sew Subversive: Down & Dirty DIY for the Fabulous Fashionista. Basically you make a big sewn envelope into which you stuff a pillow form. A perfect beginner’s project because you don’t have to worry about zippers. I can’t believe how good they look, especially on our horrible Pottery Barn sofa which my husband and I hate. The pillows add a much needed modern touch.

About our dreadful sofa – we have been wanting to replace it for SO long. Not only is it mushy and uncomfortable, it also has several chewed out sections from when we first got Barkley. He was dealing with some separation anxiety when we would leave him home alone. For a long time we considered this one from Crate and Barrel, but decided it was too expensive and we weren’t sold on the color. Now we’re thinking about this one from Ikea, but we’re not sure about its colors either (sigh) and we’re being very careful with money right now. But if we can decide before December they’re having a sofa event where you get an Ikea Gift Card worth 20% of an upholstery purchase. That’s a pretty sweet deal.

4 Responses to “Sewing Project #2 – Pillow Covers”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson October 31, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    They turned out lovely! I need to finish some pillows I have going on. This may be the kick in the pants that I need.

  2. 2 Belinda November 1, 2007 at 4:29 am

    If those pillows are only your second sewing project, you’re doing a great job! 🙂

  3. 3 Sandy November 1, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Are you using the machine that you’ve had forever? I really like the fabric you chose. I know that looks good in you home.


  1. 1 Thoughts on Sewing + Handmade Holidays « Trackback on November 1, 2007 at 9:38 pm
Comments are currently closed.




