Inspiration: Lotta Jansdotter Simple Sewing

lotta jansdotter simple sewing

I’ve finally bought a copy of Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing. I have loved her designs for ages, and own two of her adorable tissue box covers (read that post here) and a set of sticky notes my husband gave me last christmas. Her designs and patterns, to me, are the epitome of fresh, organic and modern. If I had inexhaustible funds I’m sure I would surround myself with many more of her products.

Anyway, I really want to learn to sew. I’ve thought about it for ages, but frankly, I’m scared. I see it as being a very difficult and unforgiving medium, though so many people do it very well. I’ve had a hard time just hemming up my pants, despite a very instructive lesson from my mother-in-law. And it’s not like I’ve never had a successful sewing experience. It’s just that I’ve also had some very frustrating experiences, too.

I’m hoping this book will help inspire me to change all that. It includes patterns and instructions for some basic, yet cool items that I would love to make for myself and possibly even give as gifts.

Tip: If you use the link above to her store, the book will come signed by Lotta. I didn’t know this until after I had already purchased my book from Border’s (with an email newsletter discount). Plus, while we were there we met and chatted with a very nice couple in the cafe about sewing and crafts. Rachel and Owen, if you’re reading this, it was very nice to meet you. 🙂

7 Responses to “Inspiration: Lotta Jansdotter Simple Sewing”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson October 16, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    I think that’s a lovely book. I want to purchase it one of these days. Sewing used to scare me too, but once I figured out that 1. the cutting is the unforgiving part so you just have to be extra careful there, 2. following the instructions if using a pattern makes for greater success and 3. bad sewing can be ripped out and redone, I was much less afraid. I think I have had only one thing turn out poorly (due to bad tracing of a Japanese pattern and therefore bad cutting) but I just recycled the fabric as patchwork pieces. Good luck!

  2. 2 paperseed October 16, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    Thanks for the tips, Sarah! They will come in handy when I try my first project. It’s good to know that I am not the only one with anxiety when it comes to learning to sew.

  3. 3 Belinda October 22, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    I’m not familiar with this book or this designer, but it sounds like you’re well on your way to learning to sew! Sewing really isn’t that hard, but it does take patience. 🙂

  4. 4 Josh October 25, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren
    http://www.trendyfabrics.com


  1. 1 Crazy for Craft Books « Trackback on October 24, 2007 at 9:34 pm
  2. 2 Sewing Project #3 - Placemats « Trackback on November 1, 2007 at 7:38 pm
  3. 3 Bend-the-Rules Sewing, signed « Trackback on November 8, 2007 at 10:34 pm
Comments are currently closed.




