Crafting A Greeting Card

flower cards

For the past few days I’ve been feeling crafty, so yesterday I sat down at my computer and created a few designs for greeting cards. Nothing fancy, just something sweet and light. The photograph above shows the design I ended up using and I am surprisingly happy with the way they turned out. I think I might even list them up on my etsy shop, which I’ve sadly neglected for so long.

It all started with a trip to Michael’s for inspiration. I hadn’t been there in ages. Eventually I left with a package of Martha Stewart: CraftsFlourish” blank stationery and brought them home to try with my new Canon Pixma ip3500, which came free using a promotional rebate when I bought my imac. I did try using our color laser, but I noticed on the test print (with one sacrificed card) that the heat really warped this particular paper stock.

However, in order to truly fulfill that crafty part of myself, I took it one tiny step further after printing and glued on little cut-out circles for the flower heads. I like how it adds a subtle dimensionality and playfulness. My only regret is that I didn’t purchase more of the blank stationery while I had the chance, because the Michaels’ in my area have run-out. C’est la vie.

6 Responses to “Crafting A Greeting Card”


  1. 1 puremotif October 12, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    I absolutely love these. Definitely put them in your store!!! Great job.

  2. 2 Sarah Jackson October 12, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Those are just lovely! Such a great idea.

  3. 3 VegeYum October 13, 2007 at 3:28 am

    How fabulous! I would buy them…

  4. 4 paperseed October 13, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I’m so glad to know that you guys like them. Thanks so much for your supportive comments!

  5. 5 Sarah October 16, 2007 at 4:02 am

    Thankyou for your kind comments regarding the flower card that I made the other day 🙂 and your absolutely right, there is just something about flowers and cards.

    I love these cards that you have made, minimalistic but they create the desired effect… stunning.


Comments are currently closed.




