Polar Lights & Swedish Fashion Stamps

polar lights stamps postage

I was at the post office the other day to pick up a new supply of first-class stamps. David wanted the Marvel Super Heroes, but they were out, so I got a sheet of the Forever stamps instead. I also picked up a sheet of these pretty Polar Lights stamps, too, depicting photographs of aurora borealis and aurora australis.

This is what the back of the two stamps say:

The southern lights, aurora australis, are the polar lights as seen in the Southern Hemisphere. Auroras often appear in visual forms that combine aspects of arcs, curtains, and rays; this photograph shows an aurora over Antarctica, where hints of red indicate particularly strong magnetic activity in space.

The northern lights, or aurora borealis, are a common sight in the northern polar region; here they appear over the Talkeetna Mountains in Alaska. During particularly intense magnetic storms, aurora borealis can occasionally be seen in some of the lower 48 states as well.

swedish fashion stamps

swedish fashion stamps

Speaking of stamps, I was reading another blog (was it this one?) that mentioned these Swedish Fashion Stamps that I thought were really artsy and cool. I bookmarked the Postal Shop but not the blog, although I was able to find a larger image of the stamps here.

I’ve always liked stamps, but I’ve never been a collector (not counting the random old ones that sit in the bottom of our stamp drawer, like a pair of 32¢ Marilyn Monroe stamps that I can never bring myself to use). David has several sets that his mom has framed from him in the past, some cartoon ones and a nice collector’s sheet of Hawaiian surfing legend Duke Kahanamoku.

And for those of you who don’t already know, you can even make your own postage stamps. I made a set for my sister in-law a couple years back, using a photo of her new baby boy, and they were adorable! Check ’em out here.

2 Responses to “Polar Lights & Swedish Fashion Stamps”


  1. 1 pricklypearbloom October 10, 2007 at 6:35 am

    I contemplated getting those aurora stamps too last week! But I chose to go with Jimmy Stewart instead. Those fashion ones are awesome!

  2. 2 God's Rock Angel October 13, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    The Aurora stamps are cool! However it’s a bit far from the UK to the nearest U.S. Post office lol


Comments are currently closed.




