Surfing & Tide pools

David and I went surfing on Sunday. It started out a little grey, but gradually the clouds began to part and the sun to shine. Before surfing we usually take a look at Oregon Surf Check, wavewatch.com and these live surf cams of the Oregon Coast. Turns out it wasn’t a good wave day, but we didn’t really care. I think we just wanted to get out of the house and take advantage of the few beautiful days left of summer. We didn’t even bother trying to get past the break and instead just rode whitewater. I wish I could have taken out my camera and snapped a few shots from the ocean.

After surfing I spent a little time inspecting the tide pools. I don’t know why I don’t do this every time we go. There always seems to be something new to see. Here are a few pictures of my finds, with some names that David helped me look up in our handy National Audubon Society Field Guide to the Pacific Northwest.

The North edge of the tide pools, with a sea stack in the background

Not sure what this was, but it looked cool

A Black Turban Snail

An Ochre Sea Star, about 8″

Possibly a Purple Shore Crab, about 1.5″

The amazing texture on the side of a tide pool rock
1 Response to “Surfing & Tide pools”


  1. 1 amethystlune August 29, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    terrific photos! my friends just went on a mini vacation in oregon! they are water people and loved the oregon coast! i wonder if you ran into them in the ocean …. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.




