At Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater

fallingwater

Earlier this summer I sat down and wrote a list in my journal titled Things I’ve been meaning to do, but still haven’t… which included 16 goals that I wanted to accomplish some time during my life. This list included entries like “learn to ride a motorcycle,” “take guitar lessons,” “start my own business” and “visit Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater.”

Last week I toured Fallingwater for the first time. I can’t even describe how excited I was. All the reading and architecture classes cannot compare to the real thing. It’s simply magnificent.

fallingwater

The week before, after a possible visit from my mom fell through, I decided on a whim to purchase a ticket to go see her (and my dad and sister) in Virginia instead. Growing up minutes from Washington, DC, I’ve seen the museums and monuments there hundreds of times. Then I remembered Fallingwater, and thanks to Google Maps, found out it was only a 3 1/2 hour drive from DC. Perfect.

From the visitor’s area, we walked the short 1/4 mile gravel trail to the home (during which I shivered with anicipatory goose bumps). Because my mom and dad, who are not very into arts or architecture, were with me this trip, I only purchased regular tour tickets, $16 per person, instead of the in-depth tour, $55 per person, that I would have liked to take. The in-depth is 2 hours and allows you to take indoor photos, which I was dying to do, but couldn’t. I choose the opening 10am tour thinking there would be fewer people, but now I realize the closing 5pm tour would have been better. By the time our tour was done and I could take outdoor photos, the place was not only swarming with tourists, but also with workmen, because it just so happens they were painting that week.

fallingwater

A little history: Fallingwater was designed in 1935 for the family of Pittsburgh department store owner Edgar J. Kaufmann (who also commisioned the famous architect, Richard Neutra, to design his “Desert House” in Palm Springs). The retreat was to be built in Mill Run, Pennsylvania in view of a waterfall that was on the property. Instead of facing the house towards the falls, like one would expect, Wright decided to place the house daringly above the falls while also incorporating the natural surrounding directly into the design. Striking features include a boulder that was left in place near the hearth, windows (including frameless corners) that opened out into the surrounding forest, flagstone flooring, cantilevered terraces, and stairs that lead directly from the building into the stream below.

fallingwater

The house itself was smaller than I expected, but still incredible. The bedrooms were small with Wright’s tendency for low ceilings, with a large open living/dining room. Despite the many visitors, it was easy to feel how secluded and peaceful such a place would have been to the Kaufmann’s and their visitors, a stunning combination of visual, functional and structural harmony.

Our tour guide’s name was Emma, who knew quite a bit of information. Unfortunately she had the absolute worst sing-songy voice. It drove me so crazy that I had to quit listening after the first couple of stops. She also made the funny mistake of calling the Wright reproduction furniture in the film room “faux-pas” furniture (when I’m sure she simply meant “faux” furniture). And she said it with all seriousness, the same way she delivered the rest of the tour. I didn’t have the heart to correct her and I don’t think anyone else did either.

fallingwater

fallingwater

The other funny (and slightly embarrassing) moment came at the very end of the tour. Throughout both the Kentuck Knob (more about that later) and Fallingwater tours my Dad asked several thoughtful and interesting questions when the tour guides failed to cover something he was curious about, such as how much of the original acreage was still intact today (which turns out to be the complete original 5000 acres). Right as we were parting, my Dad turned to ask Emma, in all seriousness, “Do the employees get to hunt on the property after hours?” despite the fact that he knew the property was entrusted to the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy. Um, sorry dad, no hunting allowed.

6 Responses to “At Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater”


  1. 1 pricklypearbloom August 21, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Wow, very cool. I love FLW, there is alot of architecture inspired by him in my part of the world. We actually considered looking at an old house designed by someone who studied under him, but it never came to be for us.

  2. 2 Eric Norton August 22, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Wonderful pictures. It’s nice to see more angles of the Fallingwater House than just that one typical shot. Living in Los Angeles, I’ve been able to see some of his later works – but I really prefer the Fallingwater House and his prairie style homes to what we’ve got out here. It’s also on my list of amazing architecture that I want to visit.

    I know what you’re saying about the size of the house once you get inside. When I toured the Gamble House in Pasadena (Greene and Greene) it felt surprisingly small for how incredibly large the actual house was.

  3. 3 amethystlune August 29, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    as usual, great photos! and i love that you have a list in your journal of things you’ve been meaning to do but haven’t done yet…. it’s a terrific idea especially for people who live in tourist areas. you don’t really realize the stuff around you if you don’t become a ‘tourist for the day’ yourself. 🙂


  1. 1 Ohiopyle State Park, Pennsylvannia « Trackback on August 23, 2007 at 5:22 pm
  2. 2 Tagged! 7 Honest Things « Trackback on October 2, 2007 at 11:52 pm
  3. 3 Holy Sh*#! - My Dream House is for Sale! « Trackback on November 2, 2007 at 8:01 am
Comments are currently closed.




