The Wedding Dress

wedding dress

Marcy tried on my wedding dress tonight. She and Alex have decided on a private courthouse wedding and have recently scheduled a reception for September. They came over to dinner tonight so that we could talk details, since I have the honor of designing the invitations.

I think we were discussing what she was going to wear to the reception when David suggested she consider wearing the dress I wore at my wedding. He went to the closet and pulled it out, stored in its original garment bag and shoved to the back, behind our dusty winter coats. Even though I had looked at our wedding photos just yesterday, I had forgotten how beautiful it was in person. How the rich silk drapes so elegantly, and the subtle shimmering of the burnout satin on the delicate floating chiffon. With it’s plunging back and cowl neckline, it is by no means traditional. It’s elegance is understated, calm yet unmistakable. I admit, that for a moment, I hesitated. A wedding dress is pretty personal. A small fortune in materials and memories, all bound together with threads of hopes and happiness.

Mine has not been a family to pass down heirlooms. I have no idea what any member of my family wore when they got married. There are no photos, and almost no one to ask. I do know that my mom, and probably my grandmother, did not wear a wedding dress. Sadly, both of those marriages ended in divorce.

Besides the memories, I’ve been holding on to that dress with the secret hope that, if I ever have a daughter some day, she might consider wearing it. Perhaps in the future it could be altered to suit her style, though the current design is timeless. Or maybe it could be used on another important occasion, like prom perhaps.

Eventually Marcy was convinced to try it on, complete with matching shoes for effect. It was astonishing. She looked amazing! It showed off her slender height and lightly tanned skin to perfection. It magically seemed to fit her, even though we’re built differently. It was one of those moments when you can’t help but be struck by the rightness of the situation. Marcy looks great in that dress. Wouldn’t it be cool if she wore it for her reception?

In the end, Marcy was sweet to say that I should think about it for a few days and that if I changed my mind there would be no hard feelings. Naturally, she mentioned being nervous about the prospect of spills or stains, and that is a possibility. I am willing to take that chance and hope that she is too. What good is an expensive dress that is never worn? Especially one that’s available and so obviously perfect for her? How many brides have worn a wedding dress once, only to push it to the back of their closet, forgotten amidst their unused winter coats? Beautiful dresses are made to be worn! They are a celebration of life. I realize now that I would be honored if Marcy decides to wear it. Maybe someday there will be others, but for now, I am happy that it is something that I have to offer a good friend, even if it took my husband to make me realize it. And hopefully, very soon, we’ll all have the pleasure of seeing it shimmer once again.

4 Responses to “The Wedding Dress”


  1. 1 Marcy July 25, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Thank you for the wonderful blog and for the offer of your wedding dress; I would be honored to wear your beautiful dress at our reception. I must have done something truly amazing in a past life to deserve a friend like you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  2. 2 Sandy July 25, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Oh! How perfect! I kept my dress and now when I go to help Rita move in August I will probably get to look at it again. It never did move with us. It would have been great to have had a daughter to wear it but through the years it has discolored and only been stored at the farm house. I look back now and wish that Rita would have let the nieces play dress up with it so it had more memories.
    I bet Marcy looks great in the dress.

  3. 3 Rachel August 15, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Your dress is the dress I have been looking for. Where did you find it? Designer?

  4. 4 paperseedblog August 18, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Hi Rachel,

    I’m glad you like the dress. It was purchased at Tres Fabu Bridal (www.tresfabubridal.com) here in Portland. The tag on the garment bag says that the manufacturer is Sylvan Blanc, but the tag in the dress says “Kristophe” and that the style is “Michaela #7410.” The sizing is a bit unusual because it only comes in small, medium and large and not numbered like most dresses. In 2004, we paid $1200. Hope this helps!


Comments are currently closed.




