Fresh Blueberry Hand Pies

blueberry hand pies

Photo from VeganYumYum, for Blueberry Hand Pies

One of the blogs I really like is VeganYumYum. I’m not vegan, but Lolo’s recipes and photography are so fresh and delicious. The first entry on her “Favorites” page is for Blueberry Hand Pies, which I decided to try since I had so many fresh-picked blueberries from the other day (recent post Picking Blueberries in the Rain).

The recipe starts with an easy Pate Brisee (French style crust) that is made in a food processor. Because the filling calls for frozen blueberries and I wanted to use fresh, I slightly modified the ingredients to 3 cups fresh washed blueberries, 1 Tbs. sugar and 1 Tbs. cornstarch. I say freshly washed because the berries needed to be slightly damp for the sugar and cornstarch to stick to the fruit. Then I followed the rest of the directions, except I skipped the sugar/milk glaze because I knew we would be re-heating in our toaster oven. By the end I had 12 golden and very yummy hand pies. Mmm!

1 Response to “Fresh Blueberry Hand Pies”


  1. 1 R C Ward October 30, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    I need some fresh blueberry’s


Comments are currently closed.




