Camping on the Clackamas River

This weekend David, Alex, Barkley and I went camping on the Clackamas river, about a half an hour south east of Estacada. It was mostly a last minute decision, but none of us had plans so we decided to go with it. This was a hike-in campground, quiet, secluded, and peaceful despite being the fourth of July weekend. Hiking in was a little rough, though. Even a mile with just an overnight pack was a strain on my city-girl self. My shoulder, hips and legs are so sore, but it was worth it.

The Clackamas is a beautiful river. The water is very cold, but clear and refreshing, perfect for splashing and cooling off. With so few people around, it was like we had a bit of paradise all to ourselves. The only problem (besides the hike-in) were the mosquitos. We’ve camped here before and they were nothing like this. These suckers were relentless. Not being a big fan of DEET, I brought a product called Cutter Advanced with 7% Picaridin as the active ingredient, but I don’t think it worked as well as Alex’s DEET product.

The most memorable moments of the weekend were jumping off the boulders into the deep pools, David and Alex building rock sculptures only to knock them down afterwards by hurling stones, throwing driftwood in the river for Barkley to fetch (he’s still a timid swimmer) and the incredible amount of food we brought and consumed. With the gourmet assortment we had, you’d think we were car camping. It was awesome.

More photos from this trip can be seen here, on flickr. 

2 Responses to “Camping on the Clackamas River”


  1. 1 Jim May 29, 2008 at 11:07 am

    May I ask the name of the campground? I’m heading out to the Clackamas this weekend and was hoping for a nice hike-in campsite.

    Thanks.

  2. 2 MJ June 16, 2008 at 1:46 am

    I would love to know the name of the campground as well. I’m planning to shoot a film in the area and would love to know what campground you stayed at. May I ask you to reply me at oxygen360@yahoo.com?

    Thank you so much!


Comments are currently closed.




