Natural Recycled Wood Bird Houses

wood bird house

Back in May, I wrote a post called A Sign From Heaven where I was trying to decide what David and I could make and sell on Etsy. We eventually decided to start making recycled wood bird houses, especially after a bird’s nest literally fell from the sky that weekend. I realize I never wrote a post on them, so here are links to the flower, the little bird, and the unadorned bird house.

Unfortunately, it looks like no one is interested in them because they haven’t sold. Of course, it’s risky to trust a seller with no feedback, much like on ebay, even though they’re only $12. What I need to do is make a couple purchases (now that my favorites list is 3 pages long!) and get a positive reputation started. I guess I’ve been waiting for some special occasion, a friend’s birthday perhaps, to give me an excuse, especially now that I’m trying to be money conservative.

Here’s the description for the house with the little bird painted on it (kind of long, I realize now).

Wrens, chickadees, bluebirds, titmice, downy woodpeckers and other small birds in your yard are just waiting for you to hang this shed roof bird house.

Modern, sturdy, and functional – this handmade wooden house is designed specifically for the outdoor bird population, not just for decoration. It incorporates important bird-friendly characteristics including openings for air circulation, a perchless entry with overhang (for drainage protection and to discourage unwanted visitors) and interior access for easy cleaning.

We’ve used recycled, untreated cedar, salvaged from a local Portland contractor. Cedar is naturally beautiful, insulating and insect and rot resistant. We also use outdoor quality fastenings and screws, instead of nails, for increased durability. Eventually, the surface will age to a silvery grey and blend in even better to its outdoor surroundings.

The bird house shown above has been left mostly unpainted, except for the dark brown design hand-painted on the front panel. The last picture shows the opening available for cleaning. Most birds prefer untreated wood because it allows their claws to grip the naturally rough walls more easily. Box measures approx. 11.5″ tall x 5″ wide x 4.5″ deep with a 1 1/4″ entry hole.

Each bird house will arrive with a placement guide, mounting instructions and tips for the best birding success.

We pledge to do our part by donating a portion of each sale to the Nature Conservancy or to the Portland Audubon Society, to support environmental protection and conservation.

That last part I had really high hopes for. Alas, maybe I was thinking too big, too quickly. Well, the good news is we’re prepared with holiday gifts six months early. I guess everyone knows what they’re getting now!

1 Response to “Natural Recycled Wood Bird Houses”


  1. 1 J Kent July 9, 2008 at 7:01 am

    I like the look of your natural recycled wood bird house, but how can I go about purchasing one for delivery to a US address, please?


Comments are currently closed.




