Rouxbe – Online Cooking Videos with Class

rouxbe - cooking clipping

David came across an awesome cooking site called Rouxbe that provides professional, step by step online videos for delicious looking recipes. Unlike most sites (like Martha Stewart’s, for example), you’re not bombarded with lots of busy ads or too much content. The page is clean and white, with an elegant layout, inspiring photos and intuitive controls.

The downside is that only a few of the videos are provided for free, including one for Panna Cotta, one of my favorite desserts. I sat through the whole video and am seriously thinking about trying it. I admit, they make it look very easy. We’re lucky to have a laptop I could bring it into the kitchen to watch, instead of running back and forth into the office.

rouxbe - online cooking

The upside for such a useful and well-designed site is that you can sign up free for 30 days of access. I looked around briefly and and am already having a hard time deciding which recipe I’d like to try first. After 30 days, a one year membership is $49, about the newsstand price for a year of Saveur or Bon Appetit, except that there’s no magazine clutter and you help save a tree.

I plan on giving at least one a try this weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉

5 Responses to “Rouxbe – Online Cooking Videos with Class”


  1. 1 Joe Girard July 5, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Hi there,

    Just wanted to say thanks for the post. How was the Panna Cotta?

    Joe Girard
    CEO, Rouxbe

  2. 2 paperseedblog July 6, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Hi Joe!

    Thanks for reading! I’m sad to say that I never did try the Panna Cotta recipe. When I went to purchase the gelatin, all I could find were jumbo boxes – enough to congeal a whole bathtub – when all I needed was a single envelope.

    However, thanks to your comment, I’ve decided to try again this weekend. This time I won’t be deterred…

    Emily

  3. 3 Joe September 16, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Hi Emily,

    Long overdue follow-up. Did you give it a second go!

    I should mention that there are a number of great things about to launch – including the world’s first online professional cooking school.

    Cheers,
    Joe

  4. 4 paperseedblog September 17, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Hi Joe,

    Thanks for you’re follow-up. To be honest, I did try to make that recipe, twice. Both times the look and flavor turned out great, but I think I may have done something wrong, because both times the consistency turned out a little unusual. Instead of smooth and creamy, it turned out a little too firm and somewhat clumpy, similar to a soft cheese like chevre. I was expecting it to be more like creme brulee or perhaps flan. I have no idea what I’ve done wrong, and the reason I haven’t replied is because I was a little embarrassed to admit it.

    Regardless, I maintain that the whole concept and site of Rouxbe.com are really wonderfully well-done. What I should do is try a different recipe. At the time, I really wished there was a place on the site where I could write in my question, so that perhaps someone a lot more knowledgeable might have been able to help me troubleshoot the problem.

    I wish you the very best on your new partnership to create the world’s first online video-based cooking school. And I love this quote from your most recent blog post, that “There are basically two approaches to cooking: you can either be a ‘slave’ to a recipe, or you can let skill and technique set you free.”

    Emily

  5. 5 Joe November 11, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Hi Emily,

    Have to say, the quote comes from our new partners at Northwest Culinary Academy. I liked it the first time I heard it too so I borrowed it.

    BTW.. wanted to let you know that you can now sign up for the online cooking school which will launch in early 2008. Simply go to:

    http://www.rouxbe.com/school/notification/

    We also just released a “multi-task” meal player for the US thanksgiving that your readers might be interested in.

    Cheers,
    Joe


Comments are currently closed.




