Golden Calendula Heart

Calendula

Every once in a while I take a photo that I really love, and this calendula shot fits that bill. The color just turned out so rich and warm – like it glows from within. And the texture and details! Its all there, captured in a moment of nature’s perfection.

Calendula, also known as “pot marigold,” is very hardy, long blooming and easy to grow. I started some last year in the flower garden from a packet of Lilly Miller “Pacific Beauty” seeds. Although they are annuals, a couple survived over the winter and sprouted several baby plants this year. Calendula is considered a fairly versatile plant – the petals are thought to be edible (beautiful in salads), and as an herb it has properties that can reduce inflammation. I’ve seen it most often used in “calming” products like herbal teas and diaper ointment. I’ve also read that when planted near tomato plants in the garden, marigolds help to discourage aphids.

