A Rare Sighting of a Messerschmitt MicroCar

Messerschmitt Micro Car

What the hell is this? I wish I had stopped and asked the guy what you call this thing. All I know is that it’s AWESOME. I saw it on the way to the coffee shop with my boss this afternoon and luckily I had my camera with me. The sign taped to the window says that it’s not for sale and to please not touch it. If it was just sitting there with no driver I would have wanted to touch it, too!

After seeing the above photo my co-worker Anne found out (with some help, she admits) that this is called a Messerschmitt, a German car made in the late 1950s. She said there are only 21 of these babies left. Here’s a link she sent with more information from the MicroCar Museum.

(This photo was originally posted only as a “Daily Photo,” but I felt its coolness factor deserved a permanent post all its own. The larger image can be viewed in my Flickr photostream.)

1 Response to “A Rare Sighting of a Messerschmitt MicroCar”


  1. 1 tigerli May 23, 2008 at 7:47 am

    I had a similar experience sighting a Messerschmitt in the street of Paris and I could not take my eyes off it and have been trying to find out more about it!
    It is so cool and wish they reproduce it as it is much more fuel efficient and fits in with the environmental needs of the modern societies.


Comments are currently closed.




