Sleeping Alone

My husband went fishing with Alex today and they are going to camp overnight. This leaves me in the rare position of having the house all to myself. I’ll miss him, but it’ll probably be good for us to spend a night apart. I’m probably due for a little quiet “me” time anyway – not having to come home to decide who is going to make dinner, or having to hear him play his computer game or loud music, or listen to him complain about my watching netflix or reading all the time.

Knowing that I would be coming home to an empty house, I opted to take a fitness class at the local rec center, which David has suggested many times. I wanted to not only do something healthy but also tire myself out enough to get some sleep and not jump at every noise. For good measure, I took the dog for a bike ride around the neighborhood too. Afterward, dinner was a treat from New Seasons – a cup of soup, a croissant, and a pint of Haagen Daz Light Mint Chocolate Chip.

I’ve noticed a lot of things tonight. Like how I missed getting greeted with a big hug when I got home, and how much I appreciate the feeling of security, just knowing that someone else is there. Neither of us like sleeping apart and David never sleeps very well while out camping. Our house may be small, but its safe and comfortable and charming in its own way.

Of course tonight just happens to be windy and every once in a while things blow around and knock against the house. It is times like this when I am glad to have Barkley nearby. He may not be much of a guard dog, but I can hold out the hope that he would alert me if there was something important.

It is way past my bedtime, and as I climb in bed I find one more of the rare, but sweet benefits of spending the night apart – a surprise note from my thoughtful husband beneath my pillow. It reads “Goodnight honey, I love you!”

Sweet dreams to you too, darling, wherever you are.

