Easy Mother’s Day Gift: Eyeglass Necklace

Handmade Eyeglass Necklace Lariat

I just made the easiest Mother’s Day gift. I got the idea after perusing RedEnvelope.com which has been a great source of special occasion gifts in the past (including this adorable lamb baby blanket personalized with name and birthdate that I just bought for my friend Janine). They sell a pearl eyeglass lariat necklace for $110 that not only looks great, but is also functional (my favorite). My mom wears reading glasses and I know she has nothing like this. But what I don’t know is if this would be something she’d actually use.

Instead of gambling on a hundred dollar necklace, and after making the mother’s day cards (see previous post), I felt like this might be something I could make myself. At our nearby craft store I picked up two 14″ lengths of blue and amethyst crystal glass beads and a package of metal flower-shaped toggles, all by Blue Moon Beads. Once home I used some of my husband’s steelhead fishing line to string it all together, making the toggle the pendant and focal point. This would be what holds a pair of reading glasses. I can’t believe how easy it was, plus I was lucky to find all the items on sale. I paid less than $10 for everything.

My mom pretty much never wears fake jewelry and I’m not sure she is going to wear this. But if she does find it useful then I’ll seriously consider getting her a designer version later. I’d love to make one for my mother-in-law, too, but David and I remembered that she had corrective vision surgery a while back and we’re not sure if she still uses reading glasses. And I don’t know why, but David doesn’t want to ask. I’ve never done anything like this before, but it was pretty fun, and something I’ll likely try again.

1 Response to “Easy Mother’s Day Gift: Eyeglass Necklace”


  1. 1 Jacklyn April 27, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Nice idea.
    Careful using fishing line for a necklace. Make sure it has a weak link for safety.


Comments are currently closed.




