Today’s Photo Shoot – On Location

Retirement Photo Shot

Today was day 1 of a 2 day, on location photo shoot for a local retirement community. The company I work for was hired to design their new brochure. Honestly, I find it to be a lovely place. Everyone is friendly and the grounds and gardens are overflowing with all kinds of flowering trees and shrubs – and lots of roses!

Unfortunately for me, it was almost a 12 hour day. The morning was incredible – perfect weather and the residents in the shots were a hoot! Such great personalities, so young at heart. I admit, before this I thought 65 was pretty old, but these residents were in their 70s, 80s and even 90s, and are still living active, fulfilling lives. There definitely seemed to be a collective enjoyment of traveling, volunteering, gardening and spending time with the grandkids.

Unfortunately, by the last few shots I was so tired that all I did was help out where I could, and otherwise tried to remain as inconspicuous as possible – leaving the stylist, art director and photographer to do their work. Hopefully remembering to eat a decent breakfast tomorrow will help. It’s going to be another full day, but by the end we’re sure to have lots of great images to work with.

