Found: One Huge Snail!

Common Garden Snail

Look at this HUGE snail I found among the lily leaves in our backyard! How strange! I have never seen one of these around the house before (unlike the massive numbers of other pests we have ravaging our gardens – like slugs!). After a quick internet search it turn out that what I found was just a common garden snail.

Three interesting facts about the common garden snail:

  1. Latin Name: Helix aspersa. They are closely related to Helix pomiata, the edible snail often eaten in France.
  2. The tongues of common snails are covered in horny teeth called a radula, and they eat by scraping it over their food (decaying vegetation, algae, fungi, lichen, and plant leaves).
  3. Common snails (like all land snails) are hermaphrodites, meaning they have both female and male reproductive organs, although they still need another snail in order to mate.

Anyway, David said I should have killed it, but I just can’t do that kind of thing, even if they terrorize my plants, and especially after it sat so prettily for me to photograph like a million times – you’d have though I’d found a rare specimen worthy of once-in-a-lifetime documentation the way I was snapping photo after photo. In the end I just left it alone to carry on eating in my lilies and was amazed to again realize how small things can bring such wonder.

