Fresh Summer Dresses

Garnet Hill Printed Smocked Skirt

All this spring weather is making me so anxious for summer. Shorts, t-shirts and flip-flops are my ultimate in comfort, but this year I have vowed to take more advantage of being female – and buy more summer skirts and dresses. I love to see women wearing light, breezy summer outfits – there is something so fresh and free about them. Unfortunately, the tomboy in me has a hard time feeling comfortable in anything frilly or restricting. Simplicity and ease of movement are key. Luckily, I’ve already found 3 surprisingly wearable pieces that fit that bill.

The first is Patagonia’s Margot Dress, a casual version of the ubiquitous little black dress. Made of “ultra-soft organic cotton” this dress is both environmentally conscious and easy to wear. There are no buttons, snaps or zippers – it just pulls right on and presto – I’m dressed! The classic style is flattering and since its made to complement an outdoor enthusiast’s lifestyle, it moves like freedom.

The other two items I purchased are from Garnet Hill, although one is still on back-order (story of my life lately). From the very moment I put on the Seamed Linen Sundress I felt like a lady. It drapes like a dream and the front has a unique asymmetrical bias-cut piecing that is very clean and elegant without being fussy. The ribbon straps add a delicate touch. I chose coral over espresso hoping to infuse some color into my otherwise muted wardrobe.

The back-ordered item is a Printed Smocked Skirt and matching Cap-Sleeve Tee. I’m not sure why this outfit appealed to me so much, but I knew without a doubt that I was going to order it. Skirts can be tricky because some tend to poof out in unwanted places, but the smocking on this skirt shoul help it lay flat around the hips and waist. Plus the pattern and airy cotton voile material will be a fun contrast to the other pieces. I’m looking forward to seeing the detail of the crewelwork embroidery, too. Come on summer!

