How to paint a wooden box

After reading this post on Paper Kitty’s blog, I looked up Swap-bot, a swapping community where you can join or host different swaps. To give it a try, I signed up for one called “painted wooden box.” It was listed as an international swap and my particular partner ended up being from Malaysia. Malayasia! How cool is that?

Here are some pics during the painting process. By reading my swap partner’s profile I learned that red, orange and green were some of her favorite colors, so that is what I used on the outside. The inside I filled with red-themed items, a mixture of handmade and purchased goodies. I don’t want to ruin the surprise by showing everything, on the off-chance she somehow finds her way to this blog. This was really fun though. I can see how swapping can get addictive, and I haven’t even received anything yet!


This is the original unpainted box that I picked up on sale at Craft Warehouse. I covered the
glass on the lid with tape and then stained the box with a black walnut colored stain.

While the stain dried I printed and cut this lotus pattern on heavy cardstock.

I traced the stencil onto the box and then painted the image using acrylic paint.
To seal, the outside of the box was sprayed with a light coating of matte finish spray.

For a finishing touch, I cut a piece of stiff craft felt for the interior bottom, then filled the
box with goodies and a card, and prepared it for shipping.
8 Responses to “How to paint a wooden box”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson January 29, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    that’s gorgeous! A very thoughtful swap gift.

  2. 2 Sarah January 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Your box is beautiful!! Swap-bot sounds very interesting. I’ll have to go and check it out.

  3. 3 coco8199 January 29, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    I’m so glad that you like swap-bot! I haven’t been able to do swaps lately but I love it and it’s addictive. Your box looks wonderful :D Your partner is a lucky recipient. I also love to have a partner from somewhere on the opposite side of the globe. Whenever I get a package from some far-off land, it’s like a mini vacation.

  4. 4 leslie January 29, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    so, so nice! i’m sure the recipient will be thrilled : )

  5. 5 Kiva, Southern Girl Musings January 29, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    That is a gorgeous box and your partner will definitely be pleased. I just had a partner from Malaysia and another from Singapore. It is so fun to get things from other countries.

  6. 6 pricklypearbloom January 31, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Wow, that is super cool! She is sure to be happy with that.

  7. 7 Pina February 1, 2008 at 3:12 am

    A nice idea. I need to paint my walls and might use your idea at that. You really made the box look beautiful.

  8. 8 ben September 15, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I really like your lotus stencil. It reminds me of Bali. My house renovation is a bali theme and I was wondering if you’d like to share that stencil image/file.

    I’m doing a faux glass etching on the glass on my shower stall with frosting paint.

    Thanks
    Ben


Comments are currently closed.



Paperseed's Photos

Girls at Japanese Garden, Portland, OR





More Photos

Other Things I Make


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

