Vanishing Oatmeal M&M Cookies

Vanishing oatmeal cookies

My absolute favorite cookie recipe of all time is found beneath the lid on canisters of Quaker Oats, called Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. The only difference is I omit the 1 cup of raisins and instead use two cups of M&Ms. Scrumptious! I remember making these as a teenager with a friend from church. I still make them at least once or twice a year… a perfect comfort food.

Ingredients
1/2 pound (2 sticks) margarine or butter, softened
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)
3 cups Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
1 cup raisins (or 1-2 cups M&Ms!)

Preparation
1. Heat oven to 350°F. In large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and raisins; mix well.
2. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
3. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Servings: ABOUT 4 DOZEN

7 Responses to “Vanishing Oatmeal M&M Cookies”


  1. 1 Sarah Jackson January 18, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    mmm. I’m gaining weight just reading your blog today.

  2. 2 puremotif January 18, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    MMMMM. i’ll have to give these a try. i really enjoy that you completely eliminated the raisins. haha!

  3. 3 pricklypearbloom January 21, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I love those vanishing oatmeal rasin cookies. I like the raisins though. No M&Ms for me. I like to add a bit of pumpkin pie spice to the batter too, to make them even spicier. Yum!

  4. 4 leslie January 26, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    i am going to make these. right now. seriously.

  5. 5 acupofjoy January 27, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Mmmmmm! These look soooo good! My husband would LOVE these! Do you mind if I use your recipe and bake him a batch? I’ll post about it when I do and give you the credit!

  6. 6 Sarah Jane March 2, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    I just found these via a google search. We were a little short on oatmeal, but is that really the most important ingredient?:)

  7. 7 Amy H. November 11, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    These are fantastic. I used 1 stick of butter and 1/2 c. of butter flavored Crisco. No raisins. I wish I’d have made a double recipe.


Comments are currently closed.



Paperseed's Photos

Girls at Japanese Garden, Portland, OR





More Photos

Other Things I Make


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

